Skip to content

Yundi Li – Liszt (2003) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Yundi Li – Liszt (2003)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 58:42 minutes | 457 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon
Recorded: October 2002, Teldex Studio, Berlin, Germany

Yundi Li’s first recording for Deutsche Grammophon was a profoundly superficial Chopin recital, turning the poet of the piano into the poetaster of piano players. His second recording for DG is this deeply insensitive Liszt recital. As with Li’s Chopin recital, no one could doubt that Li is a superb virtuoso with amazing power, astounding dexterity, and astonishing velocity. He tears through the sonata without breaking a sweat and flies through the Rigoletto paraphrase without a slipped note. But how much does it matter when Li’s interpretations are null and void, bathos and bombast that is tremendously thrilling but utterly lacking in emotional, intellectual, or spiritual qualities? Time and time again, you’ll be blown away by Li’s incredible technique, and time and time again, you’ll wonder what difference it makes when Li’s interpretations are nothing but a spectacular sequence of special effects. Imagine a Jurassic Park starring only dinosaurs or a Star Wars starring only Yoda, and you’ll get the idea. Deutsche Grammophon’s sound is superbly realistic and lifelike. It’s too bad that Li’s playing is neither.

Franz Liszt (1811 – 1886)
Piano Sonata in B minor, S. 178 (LW A179)
1 Lento assai 3:38
2 Grandioso – Recitativo 8:43
3 Andante sostenuto 6:56
4 Allegro energico – Andante sostenuto – Lento assai 10:50
Études d’exécution transcendante d’après Paganini (6), for piano, S. 140 (LW A52)
5 No. 3. La Campanella (Allegretto) 4:42
Widmung (Liebeslied), transcription for piano (after Schumann, I & II), S. 566 (LW A133)
6 (“Du meine Seele, du mein Herz”) d’après Robert Schumann. Innig, lebhaft 3:38
7 Liebesträume, notturno for piano No. 3 in A flat major (“O Lieb, so lang du lieben kannst”), S. 541/3 (LW A103/3) 4:37
Tarantella, for piano (Années, suppl. to II/3), S. 162/3 (LW A197/3)
8 No. 3. Tarantella. Presto – Più vivace – Canzona napolitana – Prestissimo 9:06
9 Rigoletto: paraphrase de concert (after Verdi), for piano, S. 434 (LW A187) 6:27

Yundi Li, piano



%d bloggers like this: