Skip to content

Yellowjackets – Timeline (2011) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Yellowjackets – Timeline (2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 1:02:29 minutes | 1,3 GB | Genre: Jazz, Fusion
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Mack Avenue Records

Timeline is Yellowjackets’ GRAMMY®-nominated debut on Mack Avenue Records. This 2011 album commemorates the band’s unprecedented thirty-year career. Russell Ferrante, Jimmy Haslip, Will Kennedy and Bob Mintzer deliver the perfect combination of smooth jazz and post-bop. The album peaked at #5 on Billboard’s Top Jazz Albums and features the smooth jazz standout “Timeline.”

Contemporary jazz ensemble Yellowjackets’ 2011 Mack Avenue debut, Timeline features the band’s longstanding knack for straddling the line between smooth jazz and more cerebral post-bop stuff. Marking the group’s 30 years in the business, the album is a perfect mix of low-key, soulful moments and more funky, angular jazz. In that sense, it’s a perfect balance of what the band has done throughout its career. Showcased here are members saxophonist Bob Mintzer, keyboardist Russell Ferrante, bassist Jimmy Haslip, and drummer Will Kennedy, as well as guests guitarist Robben Ford and trumpeter John Daversa. Ultimately, with tracks like the disarmingly knotty opener “Why Is It,” the expansive “Tenacity,” and the ruminative R&B-infused title track, Timeline reveals Yellowjackets as a band in a seemingly reinvigorated and creative state of mind. Not a bad place to be at 30. ~~AllMusic Review by Matt Collar

1. Why Is It 5:04
2. Tenacity 6:07
3. Rosemary 4:54
4. Timeline 5:11
5. Magnolia 4:36
6. A Single Step 7:05
7. Indivisible 5:22
8. Like Elvin 5:32
9. My Soliloquy 6:23
10. Numerology 5:56
11. I Do 6:01

Bob Mintzer – Tenor Saxophone, Sopranino Saxophone, Bass Clarinet
Russell Ferrante – Keyboards, Piano
Jimmy Haslip – Bass
Will Kennedy – Drums, Keyboards
John Daversa – Trumpet (#2,8)
Robben Ford – Guitar (#5)


%d bloggers like this: