Skip to content

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Keyboard Music Vol. 7 – Kristian Bezuidenhout (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Keyboard Music Vol. 7 – Kristian Bezuidenhout (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88.2 kHz | Time – 01:12:52 minutes |  1,26 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download |  Source:HDTracks |  Digital Booklet , Front cover
Label: © Harmonia Mundi | Recorded: November 2012 and May 2013 in Lyndhurst Hall at Air Studios in London, England.

Fortepianist Kristian Bezuidenhout continues his multi-disc survey of Mozart’s music for solo keyboard with volume seven of the series. The first six have been met with universal critical acclaim from around the world. This program of explores the elegance and drama that are ever-present in Mozart’s music. Most notably Bezuidenhout performs two works influenced by the composer’s 1778 stay in Paris – the grandly proportioned Sonata in A minor, K. 310 and the dazzling Variations in C on “Lison dormait”, K.264.

Mozart’s solo keyboard music inhabits a somewhat isolated corner. Great Mozartians from Clifford Curzon to Alfred Brendel to Clara Haskil left surprisingly few recordings of the solo sonatas and variations, which is why Kristian Bezuidenhout’s mandate to record all of them on fortepiano for Harmonia Mundi catches the attention. Hearing the discs themselves, one can hardly take one’s ears off the performances because they go so far inside the music and reverse much of what you thought you knew.
Bezuidenhout seems to piggyback lesser works (variations) on to major ones (sonatas) by juxtaposing them together, paired according to similar chronology, revealing moments of synchronicity as well as dramatic leaps in Mozart’s evolution, such as on Vol 7 when the 1773 Six Variations on ‘Mio caro Adone’ in G major, K180, are followed, in 1774, by the gargantuan theme-and-variations final movement of the Piano Sonata in D major, K284, showing Mozart working with an invention and rigour that almost sound like another composer. Elsewhere, though, Mozart’s freewheeling variations, at least in these performances, are doorways into the composer’s psyche in ways that the more formal, polished sonatas are not. The variations were like Mozart’s secret garden, offering glimpses of his improvisatory spirit. Dare I say that Beethoven’s Diabelli Variations came to mind repeatedly in these three volumes?
‘When Mozart played a simple scale,’ wrote Wanda Landowska, quoting the composer’s contemporaries, ‘it became transformed into a cavatina.’ That sums up the Bezuidenhout difference. His typical Mozartian attributes include firm command of structure, great instincts for sympathetic tempi and a technique refined enough to get at the tiniest details – in contrast to Paul Badura-Skoda’s more forceful but generalised fortepiano sonorities (Gramola). More distinctively, Bezuidenhout’s elastic tempi give him room to probe for meaning but also allow panache that’s so much a part of Mozart’s buoyant temperament and prompts some delightfully elongated final cadences. Not only does one hear the notes with more transparency than on a modern instrument but one also gets a stronger sense of Mozart’s larger world. Bezuidenhout’s stealth weapon, though, may be the unequal temperament of his copy of an 1805 Anton Walter instrument. The popular notion that equal temperament reigned exclusively after JS Bach just isn’t true. Experiments with alternative tuning – I’m thinking of Peter Serkin playing late Beethoven – can be colouristic revelations, which is also true of Bezuidenhout. So if you can only afford one volume of this series, which would it be? I refuse to say. Hear them all. –David Patrick Stearns, Gramophone

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
1 I 9 Variations on “Lison dormait” in C Major, K. 264 (1778) 16’23
Sonata in A Minor, K. 310 (1778)
2 I i. Allegro maestoso 5’31
3 I ii. Andante cantabile con espressione 9’26
4 I iii. Presto 3’02
5 I 6 Variations on “Mio caro Adone” in G Major, K. 180 (1773) 8’31
Sonata in D Major, K. 284 (1774)
6 I i. Allegro 7’26
7 I ii. Rondeau en polonaise: Andante 4’46
8 I iii. Thema: Andante. Variations I-XII 17’30

Kristian Bezuidenhout fortepiano


%d bloggers like this: