Skip to content

Winter’s Delights – Early Christmas Music and Carols from the British Isles – Quadriga Consort (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Winter’s Delights – Early Christmas Music and Carols from the British Isles – Quadriga Consort (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 00:58:43 minutes | 1,1 GB | Genre: Classical, Christmas
Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © Deutsche Harmonia Mundi/Sony Music

“Summer hath his joys, and Winter his delights” – these words, written by Thomas Campion (1567–1620) perfectly describe the attraction of the winter season. Although nature may be in a slumber, we people have found ways to amuse ourselves with long evenings of conversation, accompanied by music and wine, or snuggling up in front of the fireplace with a big mug of a nice, warm beverage, or with physical activities such as skiing or tobogganing. We’ve also invented a large number of holidays that we can look forward to and rely on to bring cheer into this dark and sun-less period.

However, despite all attempts at merriment, it cannot be denied that winter is a cruel and inhospitable time of year and it is often used as a metaphor for a cold heart or unrequited love in ancient ballads.
It is this contrast that makes winter so intense: cold and warmth, companionship and solitude, affection and rejection, darkness and light – and, ultimately, life and death.

1 The First Nowell (English Traditional) 4:11
2 Gloomy Winter (Scottish Traditional) 1:18
3 Leanabh an Àigh (The Blessed Child) (Scottish Traditional) 3:39
4 Tune No. 172 (Irish Traditional) 3:19
5 The Three Kings (English Traditional) 3:06
6 On This Day (English Traditional) 4:40
7 Noël Nouvelet – Sing We Now of Christmas (French/ English Traditional) 3:20
8 Sweet Baby, Sleep! 4:00
9 O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (English Traditional) 3:37
10 The Traveller Benighted in Snow (Scottish Traditional) 3:31
11 Early in the Morning/ The Ivy Leaf/ Christmas Comes But Once a Year (Irish Traditional) 3:06
12 Fare Thee Well, Cold Winter (English Traditional) 4:16
13 Blessed be that Maid Marie (English Traditional) 3:59
14 A Merry Christmas (Irish Traditional) 1:59
15 Winter’s Delights 3:22
16 Gloucestershire Wassail (English Traditional) 2:56
17 The Stormy Scenes of Winter (Nova Scotia Traditional) 4:24

Quadriga Consort:
Elisabeth Kaplan, voice
Angelika Huemer, recorders, treble viol
Karin Silldorff, recorders
Dominika Teufel, tenor viol
Philipp Comploi, basse de violon
Laurenz Schiffermüller, percussion
Nikolaus Newerkla, harpsichord, vibrandoneon, voice, arrangements, composition, direction


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: