Will Bernard – Freelance Subversives (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

(Last Updated On: August 12, 2022)

Will Bernard – Freelance Subversives (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:05:09 minutes | 789 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ropeadope

Guitarist Will Bernard, a Berkeley, CA native and Brooklyn NY transplant, studied guitar and piano from an early age with Dave Creamer, Art Lande and Julian White, later developing an interest in classical music composition. He received a degree in music from UC Berkeley where he studied with Andrew Imbrie and others. He began playing and recording on an international level as a member of Peter Apfelbaum’s Hieroglyphics Ensemble, who made their recorded debut with Don Cherry on “Multikulti” (A&M 1989). Since then, Bernard has participated in a host of boundary stretching groups, ranging from jazz, hip-hop and world music to experimental music, with many stops in between.

In the 90’s Bernard recorded and performed with many projects under the direction of acclaimed producer Lee Townsend, and worked with groups ranging from the Hindustani-influenced Jai Uttal to the political hip-hop group the Coup. The most commercially successful of these projects was the group T.J. Kirk (with Charlie Hunter) whose sophomore album “If Four Was One” was nominated for a Grammy in 1997. Will made further inroads with the Stanton Moore Trio which toured extensively and made 3 albums on Telarc and a Hal Leonard drum instructional video and book. Bernard broke out as a bandleader in 1998 with the release of “Medicine Hat” (Antilles/Polygram), showcasing his expert chops and flair for funky, bottom-heavy soul-jazz. He then followed up with two self produced albums (“Motherbug” and “Directions To My House”), before making two albums on Palmetto Records (“Party Hats” and “Blue Plate Special”). “Party Hats” garnered a nomination for a Grammy Award in 2008 for best contemporary jazz album. The all-star “Blue Plate Special” includes performances by Stanton Moore, Andy Hess and John Medeski.

1. Will Bernard – Pusher Danish (05:56)
2. Will Bernard – Back Channel (05:22)
3. Will Bernard – Raffle (05:07)
4. Will Bernard – Blue Chenille (05:10)
5. Will Bernard – Grunk (05:01)
6. Will Bernard – Clafunj (04:43)
7. Will Bernard – Freelance Subversive (06:20)
8. Will Bernard – Lifer (07:13)
9. Will Bernard – Garage A (07:23)
10. Will Bernard – Skill Set (06:07)
11. Will Bernard – We The People (06:41)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: