Wiener Symphoniker & Philippe Jordan – Brahms: Symphonies Nos. 1-4 (Live) (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

(Last Updated On: August 11, 2022)

Wiener Symphoniker & Philippe Jordan – Brahms: Symphonies Nos. 1-4 (Live) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:44:11 minutes | 2,75 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Wiener Symphoniker

Philippe Jordan, whose set of the complete Beethoven symphonies with this same orchestra was the hot firecracker last year, here moves on to the symphonies of Brahms before leaving his post as director of the Wiener Philharmoniker (heretofore referred to simply as WP).

I was curious to hear how Jordan would approach Brahms since he was the exact opposite sort of a composer from Beethoven. Whereas Beethoven often jotted down his music in the white heat of inspiration—though often revising certain passages later when he realized that they either weren’t very good or wouldn’t work—Brahms was the meticulous worker. Very little he wrote arose from inspiration; most of the time every note, every inflection, even the inner voicings and countermelodies, were the result of long hours of hard work, trying to find the exact notes and phrases he wanted to commit to paper. Yet although he was the tortoise to Beethoven’s hare, he ended up almost as revered as a composer, in part because his music was so perfectly written.

01. Vienna Symphony – I. Un poco sostenuto – Allegro (Live) (15:34)
02. Vienna Symphony – II. Andante sostenuto (Live) (08:19)
03. Vienna Symphony – III. Un poco allegretto e grazioso (Live) (04:41)
04. Vienna Symphony – IV. Adagio – Allegro non troppo, ma con brio (Live) (16:52)
05. Vienna Symphony – I. Allegro non troppo (Live) (19:33)
06. Vienna Symphony – II. Adagio non troppo (Live) (09:08)
07. Vienna Symphony – III. Allegretto grazioso (Live) (05:22)
08. Vienna Symphony – IV. Allegro con spirito (Live) (09:20)
09. Vienna Symphony – I. Allegro con brio (Live) (12:34)
10. Vienna Symphony – II. Andante (Live) (08:28)
11. Vienna Symphony – III. Poco allegretto (Live) (05:51)
12. Vienna Symphony – IV. Allegro (Live) (09:04)
13. Vienna Symphony – I. Allegro non troppo (Live) (12:42)
14. Vienna Symphony – II. Andante moderato (Live) (10:42)
15. Vienna Symphony – III. Allegro giocoso (Live) (06:08)
16. Vienna Symphony – IV. Allegro energico e passionato (Live) (09:47)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: