Skip to content

Wes Montgomery – Wes Montgomery, Back on Indiana Avenue: The Carroll DeCamp Recordings (Remastered) (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Wes Montgomery – Wes Montgomery, Back on Indiana Avenue: The Carroll DeCamp Recordings (Remastered) (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 02:15:11 minutes | 1,33 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © 2xHD

Resonance Records and 2xHD delve deeper into the early, unheard work of the innovative and influential guitarist Wes Montgomery with its release, Back on Indiana Avenue: The Carroll DeCamp Recordings.

With the previous archive release Echoes of Indiana Avenue, the story of where the tapes had come from was not known. Now, with Back on Indiana Avenue, it has been discovered that they came from the great composer/pianist Carroll DeCamp. This release is another ‘holy grail’ find for Wes Montgomery fans.

In his essay from the liner notes, historian Lewis Porter says the provenance of the material on that first Resonance collection became evident after he struck up a friendship with DeCamp, a noted arranger and musician who had been based in Indianapolis for many years. At Porter’s suggestion, DeCamp’s protégé Brook Reindollar contacted Feldman about this precious store of buried recordings — some cut by Montgomery in a studio, some captured informally in “live” settings by DeCamp.

On the DeCamp recordings, Montgomery is heard in full flight in a variety of settings — piano quartets, organ trios, sextets, and drummer-less Nat “King” Cole-style trios. Though DeCamp made no notes on the personnel, dedicated research and listening by Porter and the late musician and educator David Baker suggests that the players included such close associates as Montgomery’s brother Buddy, the guitarist’s longtime organist Melvin Rhyne, pianist John Bunch, and even the legendary Indianapolis-born pianist Carl Perkins just to name a few.

The 22 selections on Back on Indiana Avenue include embryonic versions of several of the numbers Montgomery would record at his early sessions for Riverside, including “Round Midnight,” “Jingles,” “Whisper Not,” “The End of a Love Affair,” “Ecaroh,” “West Coast Blues,” “Four On Six,” “Mister Walker,” “Tune-Up,” and “Sandu.”

1. Four On Six (4:46)
2. Mr. Walker (3:45)
3. ‘Round Midnight (7:12)
4. So What (4:56)
5. The End of a Love Affair (4:26)
6. Tune-Up (4:34)
7. West Coast Blues (3:14)
8. Jingles (8:20)
9. It’s You or No One (9:21)
10. Nothing Ever Changes My Love for You (5:56)
11. Ecaroh (3:50)
12. Sandu (4:27)
13. Whisper Not (6:45)
14. Stompin’ at the Savoy (7:27)
15. It’s You or No One (Take 2) (4:30)
16. Opus de Funk (6:53)
17. Summertime (9:39)
18. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (4:52)
19. Easy Living (5:49)
20. Four (5:36)
21. I’ll Remember April (5:23)
22. The Song Is You (8:52)


%d bloggers like this: