Skip to content

Wayne Shorter – Native Dancer (1974) [Japanese Reissue 2000] {PS3 ISO + FLAC}

Wayne Shorter – Native Dancer (1974) [Japanese Reissue 2000]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 43:26 minutes | Scans NOT included | 1,75 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans NOT included | 851 MB
Genre: Jazz

Some jazz purists would say that Wayne Shorter went downhill in the 1970s, when he passionately embraced electric jazz-fusion and co-led the innovative Weather Report with Joe Zawinul. But remember: Those are the same people who also claim that Miles Davis’ stunning Bitches Brew has no value and that Chick Corea’s visionary Return to Forever was a complete waste — so it’s hard to take their opinions seriously. The fact is that the 1970s were a highly productive time for Shorter, and it wasn’t until the 1980s that the tenor and soprano saxophonist really declined creatively. One of Shorter’s best-selling albums from the 1970s was Native Dancer, a Brazilian-oriented jazz-fusion masterpiece that boasts Herbie Hancock on acoustic piano and electric keyboards, and employs such Brazilian talent as singer Milton Nascimento (a superstar in Brazil) and percussionist Airto Moreira. Everything on this melodic, consistently lyrical effort is a jewel, and that includes Hancock’s “Joanna’s Theme” as well as pieces by Nascimento (“From the Lonely Afternoons,” “Ponta de Areia,” “Tarde,” “Lilia,” and “Miracle of the Fishes”) and by Shorter himself (“Ana Maria,” “Beauty and the Beast,” and “Diana”). Reissued on SACD, Native Dancer is clearly among Shorter’s most essential albums.

01. Ponta de Areia
02. Beauty and the Beast
03. Tarde
04. Miracle of the Fishes
05. Diana
06. From the Lonely Afternoons
07. Ana Maria
08. Lilia
09. Joanna’s Theme

Recorded 9/12/1974 at Village Recorders, Los Angeles.

Wayne Shorter – Saxophone, Soprano & Tenor Sax
Milton Nascimento – Guitar, Vocals
David Amaro – Guitar
Jay Graydon – Guitar
Herbie Hancock – Piano, Keyboards
Wagner Tiso – Organ, Piano
Dave McDaniel – Bass
Roberto Silva – drums
Airto Moreira – percussion



%d bloggers like this: