Skip to content

Wayne Horvitz – Sweeter Than The Day (2001) {SACD ISO + FLAC}

Wayne Horvitz – Sweeter Than The Day (2001)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 57:19 minutes | Full Scans included | 3,01 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,09 GB

The debut album from Wayne Horvitz’s sideline acoustic project Sweeter Than The Day expresses the reflective side of pianist Horvitz’s temperament: bittersweet, melodically distinctive chamber jazz, an evocative combination of swing, bop, blues, West Coast cool and the occasional edge of free jazz, with echoes of French impressionism and other classical piano music and popular music of the 1950s and 1960s.

Sweeter Than the Day is the second release by the acoustic incarnation of Wayne Horvitz’s Zony Mash. (The first was American Bandstand, subsequently reissued as Forever thanks to a legal dispute with Dick Clark.) Above all, it’s a fantastic-sounding record. Rich, round tones emanate from Horvitz’s piano and Timothy Young’s six- and 12-string guitars, framed tastefully by Keith Lowe’s resounding bass and Andy Roth’s drums. The music is laid-back and a bit melancholy, with a layered folk-rock eclecticism that occasionally brings the Brian Blade Fellowship to mind. Upbeat swing tempos do crop up on “LTMBBQ” and “In the Lounge,” and the group becomes quite agitated during the 12-toney “Irondbound.” But the real gems are the mellow, melodic ones, particularly “Julian’s Ballad,” “Sweeter Than the Day,” “The Beautiful Number 3” (by Timothy Young), and “The Little Parade.” Time and again, Zony Mash manages to be both tuneful and highly angular in the same breath.

01. In One Time and Another
02. Julian’s Ballad
04. Sweeter Than the Day
05. Irondbound
06. Waltz from the Oven
07. In the Lounge
08. The Beautiful Number 3
09. The Little Parade
10. George’s Solo

Produced by Wayne Horvitz.
Recorded at Studio Litho in Seattle, Washington in January 2001.

Wayne Horvitz – piano, prepared piano
Timothy Young – 6 and 12 string electric guitars
Keith Lowe – bass
Andy Roth – drums



%d bloggers like this: