Skip to content

Voces8 – Enchanted Isle (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Voces8 – Enchanted Isle (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:18:50 minutes | 1,44 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Decca Music Group Ltd.

Celebrated vocal group VOCES8 take listeners on a glorious journey through the musical landscape of Britain with their brand new album ‘Enchanted Isle’, released on Decca Classics. The recording features a broad range of music from John Tavener and Thomas Adès to Radiohead and Enya, interspersed with folk tunes, world premiere recordings and music from hit TV shows Game of Thrones and Harry’s Game.

Alongside timeless folk songs are modern hits, the new album includes Radiohead’s ‘Pyramid Song’ (from the band’s fifth studio album Amnesiac) which takes on a new dimension in this arrangement for voices, harp and strings. VOCES8 also cover ‘The Rains of Castamere’ from Game of Thrones – a piece which was first recorded for the HBO series by The National and Sigur Rós. There is also ‘I Was Born For This’ from the Grammy-nominated video game score Journey, composed by Austin Wintory, and the haunting theme from British TV drama Harry’s Game – originally written and performed by Irish band Clannad.

VOCES8 bring their distinctive vocals to folk tunes from around the British Isles – from Celtic classics ‘Danny Boy’ and ‘The Parting Glass’ to ‘Carrickfergus’, featuring the astonishing young Irish singer Sibéal (who sings in the traditional sean-nós style). The album also reaches as far afield as the abandoned Scottish island of St Kilda, with the recently-discovered tune ‘Soay’ – in a new arrangement by British composer Rebecca Dale, which includes a poignant cello solo. Other Scottish tunes to appear on the album are ‘My Luve is Like a Red Red Rose’ arranged by Latvian choral composer Ēriks Ešenvalds, and ‘Caledonia’ by Dougie MacLean, arranged by VOCES8’s own tenor Blake Morgan.

1. Voces8;Matthew Sharp – Soay (Arr. Dale)
2. Voces8;Gareth McLearnon – Theme from Harry’s Game (Arr. Lawson)
3. Voces8;Sibéal – Carrickfergus (Arr. Pacey)
4. Voces8 – May it be (Arr. M. Sheeran)
5. Voces8 – Agnus Dei
6. Voces8 – The Rains of Castamere (Arr. Lawson)
7. Voces8;Thomas Gould;Matthew Sharp;Eleanor Turner – Pyramid Song (Arr. Lawson)
8. Voces8 – Arcadiana, Op. 12 : 6. O Albion (Arr. Clements)
9. Voces8 – Song for Athene
10. Voces8 – The Parting Glass (Arr. Pacey)
11. Voces8;Gareth McLearnon – My Luve is like a Red, Red Rose (Arr. Ešenvalds)
12. Voces8 – Let my Love be heard
13. Voces8 – Danny Boy (Arr. Pacey)
14. Voces8;Thomas Gould;Matthew Sharp;Eleanor Turner;Abigail Burrows – I was born for this (Arr. Lawson)
15. Voces8 – She walks in beauty
16. Voces8;Matthew Sharp – The Sun never says
17. Voces8;Thomas Gould;Matthew Sharp;Jeremy Isaac;Eoin Schmidt-Martin – Caledonia (Arr. Morgan)


%d bloggers like this: