Various Artists – Sunny Side Up (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 22, 2022)

Various Artists – Sunny Side Up (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 58:59 minutes | 634 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Brownswood Recordings

With Sunny Side Up, Brownswood Recordings, piloted by Gilles Peterson, zooms in on the new Melbourne jazz scene. In the same spirit as the We Out Here compilation released in February 2018 (a Qobuzissime record!) which gave visibility to bands such as Ezra Collective, Kokoroko, Maisha, Theon Cross and Joe Armon-Jones, the English record label makes the word “jazz” plural. The 10 performances on the album trend towards soul, funk, afrobeat, deep house and plenty of other sounds. Therefore, Sunny Side Up is a bit like a polaroid picture of a generation of independant musicians, sharing rentals and makeshift studios in garages and backyard shacks in the vast Melbourne suburbs. It’s a way of documenting a scene that’s only grown since Hiatus Kaiyote’s success in 2012, within a band that shares many members, friends or studios on this record. Recorded in one week at The Grove, the mythical Coburg studio in the northern suburbs of Melbourne, and orchestrated by the sound engineer Nick Herrera (Hiatus Kaiyote, Nai Palm, 30/70) and Silentjay as a musical director, Sunny Side Up is Phil Stroud, Dufresne, Kuzich, Audrey Powne, Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange, Powers 2, Laneous, Silentjay, Horatio Luna and Allysha Joy. Names to remember. – Clotilde Maréchal

1. Phil Stroud – Banksia (06:30)
2. Dufresne – Pick Up / Galaxy (06:27)
3. Kuzich – There Is No Time (06:24)
4. Audrey Powne – Bleeding Hearts (06:29)
5. Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange – Powers 2 (The People) (06:03)
6. Laneous – Nice to See You (03:41)
7. Silentjay – Eternal / Internal Peace (08:53)
8. Horatio Luna – The Wake-Up (07:33)
9. Allysha Joy – Orbit (06:58)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: