Various Artists – Blue Note Voyage (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 23, 2022)

Various Artists – Blue Note Voyage (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 42:03 minutes | 808 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © UNIVERSAL MUSIC LLC

A really fantastic 80th birthday tribute to Blue Note Records – one that has a host of younger Japanese jazz musicians banding together to deliver their own versions of Blue Note classics from back in the day! The lineup is wonderful, and very adept at changing up from track to track – Jun Miyakwawa on Hammond and piano, Takuya Kuroda on trumpet, Akihiro Nishiguchi on tenor, May Inoue on guitar, Ai Kuwabara on piano, Ryuta Tsunoda on bass, and both Tomo Kanno and Shun Ishiwaka on drums – players who not only understand the spirit of the music, but also very much rise with each other in a sense of fresh arrangements that moves the record way past just a sleepy remake of the past! Instead, we hear plenty of currents of the more contemporary Tokyo scene – on titles that include “Maiden Voyage”, “Feel Like Makin Love”, “Cleopatra’s Dream”, “Midnight Blue”, “Song For My Father”, “Sidewinder”, and “Night In Tunisia”.

1. Maiden Voyage (07:38)
2. Midnight Blue (05:45)
3. Song For My Father (05:16)
4. The Sidewinder (05:28)
5. Cleopatra’s Dream (06:25)
6. Feel Like Makin’ Love (05:48)
7. A Night In Tunisia (05:41)


Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: