Skip to content

Van Duren – Idiot Optimism (Remastered) (2003/2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Van Duren – Idiot Optimism (Remastered) (2003/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 53:02 minutes | 543 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Omnivore Recordings

Van Duren’s sophomore album, finally released as Van intended.

After the release of Are You Serious?, Van Duren immediately returned to the studio—recording 14 tracks (one being a medley of two songs) that rivaled his tremendous debut. But, the album was shelved and didn’t see the light of day for two decades, when inexplicably, it was released in Japan without any input from the artist.

With full creative control from Duren, this reissue of Idiot Optimism is packaged with new art, liners from Van outlining the story of the album, and many previously unseen photos. Featuring 14 originals and a cover of Chris Bell’s (Big Star) “Make A Scene,” this new edition is remastered from the original analog tapes. Idiot Optimism has never looked nor sounded better.

Forty years on, I still consider Idiot Optimism to be right at the top of my discography. And through the magical powers of the good folks at Omnivore Recordings, this album and the first, Are You Serious? have not only been restored but improved upon, with top-notch mastering and terrific packages that truly enhance the listening experience. Turn it up!”


1. Van Duren – Bear with Me All the Way
2. Van Duren – Make a Scene
3. Van Duren – Tennessee, I’m Trying
4. Van Duren – Convincing Convictions
5. Van Duren – That
6. Van Duren – Life in Layers
7. Van Duren – What’s Keeping You?
8. Van Duren – Torn in Half
9. Van Duren – Hand over Hand
10. Van Duren – Andy, Please
11. Van Duren – Woman Needs Man Needs Woman
12. Van Duren – Mabel (I’m Amazed)
13. Van Duren – Reminds Me of Me
14. Van Duren – Medley: Love at the Heart of It / Mad at the Moon


%d bloggers like this: