Skip to content

V.S.O.P. The Quintet – Live Under The Sky (1979) [Japanese SACD Reissue 2007] PS3 ISO + FLAC

V.S.O.P. The Quintet – Live Under The Sky (1979) [Japan 2007]
PS3 Rip | 2x SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 85:53 minutes | Scans included | 3,88 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,0 GB

V.S.O.P.: Live Under the Sky is a 1979 live album by the V.S.O.P. Quintet, a record of a performance at the 1979 Live Under the Sky Festival as it was performed live in Japan over two days. This, the fourth VSOP release, once again featured Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Tony Williams, Ron Carter, and Freddie Hubbard.

Herbie Hancock’s all-star V.S.O.P. Quintet reunited the Miles Davis group of the mid-’60s (Wayne Shorter on tenor and soprano, pianist Hancock, bassist Ron Carter, and Tony Williams), with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard doing his best to fill Davis’ shoes. The Japanese outdoors concert (recorded during a rainstorm) heard on this two-LP set finds the talented players in fine form on extended versions of six group originals (only Williams’ “Pee Wee” dates from the Miles Davis years); a Hancock-Shorter duet medley on “Stella by Starlight,” and “On Green Dolphin Street” is offered as the encore. Few surprises occur, but it is particularly rewarding to hear Wayne Shorter (after years of being in Weather Report) stretching out again.


01. Eye Of The Hurricane
02. Teardrop
03. Domo
04. Para Oriente
05. Pee Wee

01. One Of Another Kind
02. Fragile
03. Stella By Starlight/On Green Dolphin Street

Herbie Hancock – piano
Wayne Shorter – soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
Freddie Hubbard – trumpet
Ron Carter – double bass
Tony Williams – drums

Recorded Live Under the Sky Festival on July 26, 1979 in Tokyo, Japan.
Sony Music Japan # SICP-10077~78



%d bloggers like this: