Skip to content

Trevor Pinnock – Mahler: Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen (Arr. Schoenberg) (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Trevor Pinnock – Mahler: Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen (Arr. Schoenberg) (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 61:30 minutes | 2,02 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © LINN Records

Historical performance pioneer Trevor Pinnock conducts the Royal Academy of Music Soloists Ensemble in revealing chamber arrangements from Mahler to Zemlinksy.

Mahler: Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (arr.Schoenberg) is the third in the series which sees Trevor and the Academy perform and record works which are retrospectively reigniting Schoenberg’s vision of performing chamber reductions of symphonic repertoire.

The works in this recording transport us to a period of vast musical change: in Mahler we hear nostalgia welded with modernism; with Wagner, we hear the sunset of Romanticism; with Zemlinsky we hear the seeds of fin-de-siècle Vienna; and in all, the extremities of emotion distilled into non-symphonic forces.

Arnold Schoenberg’s own arrangement of Mahler’s intensely personal song cycle is followed by Erwin Stein’s arrangement of Busoni’s landmark composition Berceuse élégiaque.

Specially commissioned for this chamber series is Christopher Austin’s arrangement of Zemlinsky’s evocative Sechs Gesänge, which enjoys its premiere recording here.

Closing the disc is Wagner’s infamous Siegfried Idyll.

The arrangements for chamber forces serve to illuminate the original scores; the clarity achieved in these performances expose revealing new insights.

Trevor Pinnock is recognised worldwide as a harpsichordist and conductor who pioneered performance on historical instruments with his own orchestra, The English Concert.

2014 saw Pinnock return to conduct The English Concert in a fortieth anniversary celebration concert at Wigmore Hall, where he also gave a solo harpsichord recital. In ‘Pinnock’s Passions’, he curated four themed concerts with guest musicians and speakers at the new candlelit Sam Wanamaker Playhouse at The Globe.

Pinnock’s contribution to musical life at the Royal Academy of Music is considerable, with regular conducting commitments as Principal Guest Conductor of the Academy’s Concert Orchestra in addition to conducting Royal Academy Opera productions.
1. Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen – I. Wenn mein Schatz Hochzeit macht [04:08]
2. Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen – II. Ging heutТMorgen uberТs Feld [04:23]
3. Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen – III. Ich habТ ein gluhend Messer [03:12]
4. Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen – IV. Die zwei blauen Augen von meinem Schatz [05:40]
5. Berceuse elegiaque, Op. 42 [07:13]
6. Sechs Gesange, Op. 13 – I. Die drei Schwestern [04:08]
7. Sechs Gesange, Op. 13 – II. Die Madchen mit den verbundenen Augen [03:04]
8. Sechs Gesange, Op. 13 – III. Lied der Jungfrau [02:32]
9. Sechs Gesange, Op. 13 – IV. Als ihr Geliebter schied [02:16]
10. Sechs Gesange, Op. 13 – V. Und kehrt er einst heim [02:51]
11. Sechs Gesange, Op. 13 – VI. Sie kam zum Schloss gegangen [04:47]
12. Siegfried Idyll, WWV. 103 [17:16]

Busoni, Ferruccio (1866-1924)
Mahler, Gustav (1860-1911)
Wagner, Richard (1813-83)
Zemlinsky, Alexander von (1871-1942)

Gareth Brynmor John (baritone)
Katie Bray (mezzo)
Royal Academy of Music Soloists Ensemble
Trevor Pinnock (conductor)


%d bloggers like this: