Skip to content

Tower Of Power – Soul Vaccination: Tower Of Power Live (1998) [Reissue 2000] {PS3 ISO + FLAC}

Tower Of Power – Soul Vaccination: Tower Of Power Live (1998) [Reissue 2000]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 71:38 minutes | Scans included | 2,88 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,48 GB
Genre: Jazz

“All I wanted to do was to get to Sacramento to play the topless bars,” recalls tower of power founder and tenor saxophonist Emilio Castillo about his band’s early days in the late ’60s. Clearly, the funk horn ensemble has accomplished much more than that. A major influence on fusion and smooth jazz, the 10-piece band has recorded albums for Epic, Columbia, and Warner Bros. and continues to tour the summer jazz-festival circuit. Tower’s new album, Soul Vaccination: Tower of Power Live, features 15 of the band’s most popular songs as recorded during a 1998 world tour. Half of the tunes were recorded at the Fillmore in San Francisco, where the band performed frequently back in the day.

The recordings on Soul Vaccination: Live were made during Tower of Power’s 1998 tour. It wasn’t a reunion tour, since ToP never really went away, but they nevertheless hauled such staples as “What Is Hip,” along with selection from latter-day albums. If Soul Vaccination is to be trusted, it was an enjoyable but not particularly noteworthy jaunt through the states. Nevertheless, ToP’s playing was supple and lively enough to make it an enjoyable listen for hardcore fans, even if it’s not memorable enough to make its way onto the stereo that often.

01. Soul With A Capital ‘S’
02. I Like Your Style
03. Soul Vaccination
04. Down To The Night Club (Bump City)
05. Willin’ To Learn
06. Souled Out
07. Diggin’ On James Brown
08. To Say The Least You’re The Most
09. You Strike My Main Nerve
10. Can’t You See (You Doin’ Me Wrong)
11. You Got To Funkifize
12. So Very Hard To Go
13. What Is Hip
14. You’re Still A Young Man
15. So I Got To Groove



%d bloggers like this: