Skip to content

Tori Amos – Gold Dust (2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Tori Amos – Gold Dust (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 1:00:51 minutes | 1,33 GB | Genre: Pop
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Deutsche Grammophon

In Tori Amos’ twenty-year career, the artist has won various awards, touched the lives of millions of fans, performed thousands of shows around the world and sold over twelve million records worldwide. To commemorate this milestone, Tori Amos has revisited a collection of hits spanning her entire catalogue. Produced by Amos with arrangements by John Philip Shenale, the album features her classics songs, recorded with the esteemed Metropole Orchestra. Each track, personally selected by Amos, is reworked for an orchestral setting; standouts include “Precious Things,” “Silent All These Years” and “Winter.” The music is timeless and Amos remains one of the strongest female vocalists in music history.

The release of Gold Dust was inevitable, and was recorded to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the release of Little Earthquakes, the album that established Tori Amos as one of, if not the, singer/songwriters of her generation. Here she revisits songs from her catalog backed by the famed Metropole Orchestra conducted by Jules Buckley. Amos recorded live with the orchestra in the Netherlands, making it a greatest-hits comp with a twist. It works. The songs keep their inherent melodies and basic arrangements, and the Metropole Orchestra underscores the inherent drama in them without overwhelming them (no easy feat). While everyone will have her favorites — or be disappointed about those that have been left out — the arc of the album works quite well. Songs like “Marianne” and “Yes Anastasia” are as direct and compelling as ever. The title track, with its elegiac intro, is more elaborate, yet never gives in to excess. “Precious Things” is, if anything, more militant, even as it proclaims “let these precious things be.” The gospel feel in the chords that introduce “Snow Cherries from France” are quickly supplanted by a near-theatrical feel. The set closes with “Girl Disappearing” from American Doll Posse. In this arrangement, subtler shades of meaning are coaxed from the lyric by the orchestra and by more elaborate piano flourishes from Amos. Gold Dust is another of Amos’ dreams realized — to record live with an orchestra — and it is most certainly for her dedicated fans, who will no doubt find elements in these new versions to enjoy.

01 – Flavor
02 – Yes, Anastasia
03 – Jackie’s Strength
04 – Cloud On My Tongue
05 – Precious Things
06 – Gold Dust
07 – Star Of Wonder
08 – Winter
09 – Flying Dutchman
10 – Programmable Soda
11 – Snow Cherries From France
12 – Marianne
13 – Silent All These Years
14 – Girl Disappearing


%d bloggers like this: