Skip to content

Tony Bennett – I Wanna Be Around (1963/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Tony Bennett – I Wanna Be Around (1963/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 30:53 minutes | 698 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Columbia/Legacy

Recorded during his peak era, Tony Bennett’s “I Wanna Be Around” continues the crooner’s upward trajectory as he nestles into a superb batch of heartfelt ballads, softly swinging pop and frisky bossa nova with the kind of charm, control and coolness reserved for a legend. The follow-up to the singer’s breakthrough “I Left My Heart In San Francisco”, this 1963 set is every bit its predecessor’s equal. Read: A bonafide vocal classic.

As the studio album followup to Tony Bennett’s breakthrough record, I Left My Heart in San Francisco, I Wanna Be Around had a lot to live up to, but since San Francisco was a culmination of Bennett’s development, and not a fluke, I Wanna Be Around turned out to be almost on a par with its predecessor. “The Good Life” and “I Wanna Be Around” became Top 20 hits, showing that Bennett had somehow found a line into good new pop material, and there were also some excellent arrangements, courtesy of Marty Manning, including a percussion-and-flute reading of “Let’s Face the Music and Dance” that echoed the Beat of My Heart album and a nod to the South American trend with Antonio Carlos Jobim’s “Quiet Nights (Corcovado).” A worthy successor.

01 – The Good Life (Single Version)
02 – If I Love Again
03 – I Wanna Be Around
04 – I’ve Got Your Number
05 – Until I Met You
06 – Let’s Face the Music And Dance
07 – Once Upon a Summertime
08 – If You Were Mine
09 – I Will Live My Life for You
10 – Someone to Love
11 – It Was Me
12 – Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars

Recorded: March-December 1962 at CBS 30th Street Studio, New York.Tony Bennett – vocals

Ralph Sharon – piano
Ralph Burns – arranger
Marty Manning – arranger, conductor
Carlos Lyra – guitar on “12”


%d bloggers like this: