Skip to content

Tony Bennett & Diana Krall – Love Is Here To Stay (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Tony Bennett & Diana Krall – Love Is Here To Stay (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:37 minutes | 687 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Verve

Two generations. Two styles. Two voices. And an album in common… For about twenty years, crooner Tony Bennett and singer and pianist Diana Krall had produced a few duos here and there, but never an entire album. With this Love Is Here To Stay, they jumped right in and involved another five-star tandem in their enchanted parenthesis of refined vocal jazz: George and Ira Gershwin. They went digging through the vast repertoire of the most famous brothers of 20th American popular music to create this album that seems from another time, produced with the trio of impeccable pianist Bill Charlap, Peter Washington on the double bass and Kenny Washington on drums…

Tackling the Great American Songbook is always a redeeming and almost necessary baptism of fire for any worthy jazz singer. And these two didn’t wait for 2018 to do it. Here, each one excels in what they do best, even if, at 92 years of age, Tony Bennett obviously doesn’t have the same organ as he did when he sung I Left My Heart In San Francisco, which made him popular in 1962. Sinatra’s favourite singer knows it, and manages to find a range in line with his vocal condition. The result is particularly touching. A great professional, Diana Krall adapted her singing to the New Yorker, turning their exchanges into endearing, slightly retro flirting. The 38 years between them become the main asset of an old-fashioned yet delightful album.  – Clotilde Maréchal

01. ‘S Wonderful 02:50
02. My One And Only 02:48
03. But Not For Me 03:05
04. Nice Work If You Can Get It 02:45
05. Love Is Here To Stay 04:26
06. I Got Rhythm 01:57
07. Somebody Loves Me 03:40
08. Do It Again 02:53
09. I’ve Got A Crush On You 03:58
10. Fascinating Rhythm 02:41
11. They Can’t Take That Away From Me 03:23
12. Who Cares? 01:56

Tony Bennett, vocals
Diana Krall, vocals
Bill Charlap Trio:
Bill Charlap, piano
Peter Washington, bass
Kenny Washington, drums


%d bloggers like this: