Skip to content

Tommy Flanagan – Flanagans Shenanigans (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Tommy Flanagan – Flanagans Shenanigans (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:09:35 minutes | 689 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Storyville Records

Tommy Flanagan was honored with the Jazzpar Prize in 1993 by the Danish Jazz Center and took part in a special concert as all honorees have. The pianist is always a treat to hear in a live setting, and this evening is no exception. His trio includes bassist Jesper Lundgaard and drummer Lewis Nash, while on the first four numbers he is joined by the six piece Jazzpar Windtet. “Eclypso” and “Beyond the Bluebird,” two of the pianist’s best-known works, are highlights of this portion of the concert, with the former featuring a memorable baritone horn solo by Vincent Nilsson. Jesper Thilo, arguably one of Europe’s best tenor saxophonists, takes the place of the Windtet on Quincy Jones’ lovely ballad “For Lena and Lennie.” The trio is featured the rest of the way; the catchy blues “Flanagan’s Shenanigan’s” (written by pianist James Williams) and Flanagan’s lyrical interpretation of “But Beautiful” particularly command your attention. As one of the relatively rare live recordings featuring Tommy Flanagan as a leader, this CD is warmly recommended. ~ Ken Dryden


01. Eclypso
02. Beyond The Buebird
03. Minor Mishap
04. For Lena And Lennie
05. Flanagan’s Shenanigans
06. The Balanced Scales
07. But Beautiful
08. Let’s
09. Tin Tin Deo


Tommy Flanagan (piano)
Jesper Lundgaard (bass)
Lewis Nash (drums)
featuring: Jesper Thilo (tenor saxophone)


%d bloggers like this: