Skip to content

Tom Petty – The Best Of Everything – The Definitive Career Spanning Hits Collection 1976-2016 (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Tom Petty – The Best Of Everything – The Definitive Career Spanning Hits Collection 1976-2016 (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:26:06 minutes | 3,02 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Tom Petty – Greatest Hits

The Best Of Everything, the first career-spanning collection of all of Tom Petty’s hits with The Heartbreakers, his solo work and Mudcrutch, is released via Geffen Records / UMC. The 38-track set also features two previously unreleased tracks, including the collection’s lead single—an alternate version of the title track, which restores a never-heard second verse to the song that was originally recorded for the Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers’ 1985 album, Southern Accents. All 38 recordings on The Best of Everything have been newly mastered for this collection from the original stereo master tapes or digital files by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, with supervision by Ryan Ulyate.

“Consider The Best of Everything a companion piece to An American Treasure, the first posthumous Tom Petty compilation. Weighing in at four CDs, An American Treasure was designed as a gift to the devoted who were still in mourning. In contrast, The Best of Everything is aimed at the fan who didn’t dig quite so deep, or perhaps to listeners who always liked Petty but never bothered to purchase an album. The Best of Everything relies on the hits that were largely absent on the box set but it takes a similar non-chronological approach to sequencing, a move that emphasizes Petty’s consistency as both a songwriter and recording artist. This distinguishes The Best of Everything from 2000’s Anthology: Through the Years, which also spanned two discs and contained four fewer songs than this 2019 set. Apart from that notable aesthetic choice, there is a considerable amount of overlap between the two double-disc collections – namely, all the hits Petty had with and without the Heartbreakers between 1976 and 1993, when he switched from his longtime home of MCA to Warner. The Best of Everything trumps Anthology in that it also includes hits Petty had for Warner – “You Don’t Know How It Feels,” “You Wreck Me,” and “Walls” – and extends to his strong last decade as a recording artist, adding two unreleased cuts for good measure (an alternate take of the title track which was heard in a shorter version on An American Treasure, the unheard “For Real,” which is laid-back and nifty). All this adds up to the best overall overview of – and perhaps introduction to – Tom Petty assembled to date.” (Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AMG)

1. Free Fallin’ 04:14
2. Mary Jane’s Last Dance 04:33
3. You Wreck Me 03:22
4. I Won’t Back Down 02:56
5. Saving Grace 03:45
6. You Don’t Know How It Feels 04:46
7. Don’t Do Me Like That 02:40
8. Listen To Her Heart 03:02
9. Breakdown 02:41
10. Walls (Circus) 04:23
11. The Waiting 03:54
12. Don’t Come Around Here No More 05:06
13. Southern Accents 04:42
14. Angel Dream (No.2) 02:25
15. Dreamville 03:47
16. I Should Have Known It 03:38
17. Refugee 03:21
18. American Girl 03:30
19. The Best Of Everything (Alternate Version / Extra Verse) 05:25
20. Wildflowers 03:10
21. Learning To Fly 04:01
22. Here Comes My Girl 04:33
23. The Last DJ 03:30
24. I Need To Know 02:21
25. Scare Easy 04:36
26. You Got Lucky 03:35
27. Runnin’ Down A Dream 04:23
28. American Dream Plan B 03:00
29. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around 04:03
30. Trailer 03:18
31. Into The Great Wide Open 03:42
32. Room At The Top 05:01
33. Square One 03:25
34. Jammin’ Me 04:09
35. Even The Losers 03:38
36. Hungry No More 05:56
37. I Forgive It All 04:13
38. For Real 03:51

Digitally remastered


%d bloggers like this: