Skip to content

Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers – Pack Up The Plantation: Live! (1985/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – Pack Up The Plantation: Live! (1985/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 01:12:06 minutes | 1,54 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Geffen Records

Recorded live at the Wiltern Theatre, Los Angeles, California, August 7, 1985 except, “Don’t Bring Me Down” – Paradise Theater, Boston, Massachusetts, July 16, 1978; “Stories We Could Tell” – Hammersmith Odeon, London, England, March 7, 1980, engineered by Charles Kaplan in the Mobile Manor Unit; “Needles and Pins” & “Insider” – The Forum, Los Angeles, California, June 1981; “Shout” – The Coliseum, Richfield, Ohio, March 19, 1983; “Rockin’ Around (With You)” – Irvine Meadows Amphitheater, Irvine, California, June 1983

Exclusively on HDtracks, images of the master tapes are included with every download, along with a note from the remaster producer, Ryan Ulyate.

Until The Live Anthology was released in 2009, this was the only live album the Heartbreakers ever released. Primarily recorded at a show at the Wiltern Theatre in Los Angeles, CA on August 7, 1985, the album also includes the following tracks recorded at other concerts. Pack Up The Plantation: Live! includes single “Needles and Pins” featuring Stevie Nicks.

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers released a live video as a companion piece to their 1985 concert album Pack Up the Plantation: Live!. Taken from one show at Los Angeles’ Wiltern Theater, the video is in some ways superior to the record, since its single source provides a continuity missing on the LP, but the real distinction are the songs that aren’t featured on the record. “Little Bit o’ Soul,” “Make It Better (Forget About Me),” “Route 66,” “You Got Lucky,” “Don’t Do Me Like That,” “I Need to Know,” “Don’t Come Around Here No More,” and “Spike” are all on the video, not on the CD, which makes it necessary for collectors, especially since all the performances are quite good. Nevertheless, Pack Up the Plantation suffers from the same problem as its vinyl companion — it isn’t quite the stunning performance that the Heartbreakers are capable of delivering — but it’s still thoroughly entertaining. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 So You Want To Be A Rock & Roll Star 3:30
2 Needles And Pins 2:23
3 The Waiting 5:08
4 Breakdown 7:43
5 American Girl 3:50
6 It Ain’t Nothin’ To Me 6:05
7 Insider 5:16
8 Rockin’ Around (With You) 3:20
9 Refugee 5:22
10 Southern Accents 5:20
11 Rebels 6:10
12 Don’t Bring Me Down 3:40
13 Shout 9:30
14 Stories We Could Tell 3:55

Tom Petty – 6 & 12-string electric & acoustic guitars, lead vocals
Mike Campbell – lead guitar, 12-string, lap steel & slide guitars
Howie Epstein – bass, mandolin & harmony vocals
Benmont Tench – keyboards & vocals
Stan Lynch – drums & vocals
Soul Lips Horns: (on tracks recorded at the Wiltern Theater)
Jimmy Zavala – saxes, harmonica
Lee Thornburg – trumpets, flugel horn
Nick Lane – trombones, euphonium
The Rebeletts: (on tracks recorded at the Wiltern Theater)
Pat Peterson – backing vocals, percussion
Caroll Sue Hill – backing vocals, percussion
Ron Blair – bass on “Insider”, “Needles and Pins”, “Stories We Could Tell” & “Don’t Bring Me Down”
Phil Jones – percussion on “Insider”, “Needles and Pins”, “Rockin’ Around (With You)” & “Shout”
Bobby Valentino – violin on “Stories We Could Tell”
Stevie Nicks – vocals on “Insider” & “Needles and Pins”

Producer’s Note: Tom Petty Hi-Res Remastering :: The Hi-Res (24bit 96K) remastering of the Tom Petty catalog reveals a level of detail that was only previously heard by a select group of musicians, producers and engineers in the studio. It’s as close to the sound of original stereo master as you can get. We’re very happy with the way it came out, and believe it’s an important way to preserve the legacy of this great body of work.
If hearing the highest possible sound quality is important to you, then this is where you’ll get it.
The remastering was done in the fall of 2014 by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering. I supervised it and Tom approved it. Great care was taken to find the original first-generation masters and transfer them with minimal eq and little or no dynamic range compression. In cases where the first-generation masters were unusable, we used the best sounding second-generation masters.*
To allow for full dynamic range, and to let the music “breathe” the Hi-Res versions have about 6-8db less digital level than a typical “loud” peak-limited CD or mp3. To enjoy these albums to their fullest extent, play them back though a good system and turn up the volume.
With this increased level of detail and sonic impact, we hope you’ll enjoy rediscovering these great albums as much as we did! —Ryan Ulyate, April 2014


%d bloggers like this: