Skip to content

Thelonious Monk Trio – Thelonious Monk Trio (Rudy Van Gelder Remaster) (1954/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Thelonious Monk Trio – Thelonious Monk Trio (1954/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 34:48 minutes | 374 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Prestige Records
Recorded: October 15 (#5,6,7,8), December 18 (#3,4,9,10), 1952, and September 22 (#1,2), 1954 at the Van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, NJ
Remastered: 2007, Rudy Van Gelder at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ

The position of legendary figure is usually reserved for a deceased musician who has played two decades before. It usually requires this posthumous status and span of time, for the various stories concerning him to grow into a legend but it took a very much alive Thelonious Monk only five years to surround himself with an air of mystery and receive the title “High Priest of Bebop” in the Forties.

Perhaps this element of weird glamour prevented many people from enjoying Monk’s music to the fullest extent. Certainly he is always low man on the totem pole whenever the triumvirate of the founding fathers of bop is evaluated. This is due in part, no doubt, to the greater solo prowess of Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie, but Thelonious’s contributions in time, chord patterns, and the original lines resulting from them were unjustly minimized. Actually they were the basis for much of the jazz of the Forties and Fifties.

Today he stands as an individual, a highly original musician who is the mentor of many young musicians in New York and the influence of countless others all over the globe. In his writing and playing, he consistently proves his right to the often misapplied title of creator. This album is composed of two separate sessions. As a belated sequel to Thelonious’s successful trio sessions of 1952, this one was also richly rewarding.

Though not a great soloist from the standpoint of technique, brilliance, and flash, Monk’s originality of style and width of idea serve to make him a highly interesting and important one. His playing can be characterized by roast beef, and a martini in which vermouth plays a very minor supporting role; much meat and very dry.


1. Blue Monk 07:39
2. Just A Gigolo 03:01
3. Bemsha Swing 03:10
4. Reflections 02:48
5. Little Rootie Tootie 03:06
6. Sweet And Lovely 03:34
7. Bye-Ya 02:47
8. Monk’s Dream 03:07
9. Trinkle, Tinkle 02:50
10. These Foolish Things 02:46


Thelonious Monk, piano
Gary Mapp, bass (#3-10)
Percy Heath, bass (#1,2)
Art Blakey, drums (#3-10)
Max Roach, drums (#1,2)


%d bloggers like this: