Skip to content

The Three Sounds – Out Of This World (1966/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

The 3 Sounds – Out Of This World (1966/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 41:07 minutes | 1,67 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Artwork: Front cover | © Blue Note Records

Out of This World is the second album for the Blue Note label by The 3 Sounds. The album is a mix of jazz standards and original compositions by Gene Harris.

“Out of This World relies less on originals than The 3 Sounds prior albums, concentrating on standards which sound startlingly fresh. It’s the loose, flexible groove that’s the key. Simpkins and Dowdy keep things on track, while Gene Harris plays — he can be nimble, he can pound, but he keeps the music flowing at a nice, easy pace. He has a good sense of the groove, and he stays within the groove even as he plays a lot of notes; it’s truly an individual style.

“Despite the R&B-flavored arrangements on ‘Girl of My Dreams’ and the swinging, gospel-inflected ‘Sanctified Sue,’ Out of This World is a particularly light and breezy record from The 3 Sounds. They’re just as comfortable stretching out with the groove as they are with keeping things short, simple, and concise — either way, it’s thoroughly enjoyable music. But no matter how easy the group is to enjoy, they have true style, as Harris’ bluesy flourishes and the rhythm section’s supple support illustrate. It’s hard to sound this light and easy, and The 3 Sounds pull it off with grace.” —

01 – Girl Of My Dreams
02 – Out Of The Past
03 – Just In Time
04 – I’ll Be Around
05 – My Silent Love
06 – Sanctified Sue
07 – Out Of This World
08 – You Make Me Feel So Young

Produced by Alfred Lion.
Recorded at Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on February 4 (tracks 1, 3 & 7),
March 7 (tracks 4 & 8-10), and March 8 (tracks 2, 5 & 6), 1962.

Gene Harris – piano, organ
Andrew Simpkins – bass
Bill Dowdy – drums


%d bloggers like this: