Skip to content

The Stanley Clarke Band – The Message (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Stanley Clarke Band – The Message (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 44:41 minutes | 490 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records

45 years after his first album, Stanley Clarke shows that he is still an untouchable virtuoso on the bass, electric and acoustic guitar, with an artistic vision that is completely his own. Supported by friends as varied as rapper Doug E. Fresh and trumpet player Mark Isham and accompanied by a band featuring Cameron Graves and Beka Gochiashvili on keyboards and Mike Mitchell on drums, the bass ace unfurls all his know-how on this record, whether he’s throwing himself into a torrid funky swerve or revisiting a Bach suite! There’s an impressive eclecticism throughout, though this former member of Return to Forever never ceases to be himself. What’s more, Stanley Clarke doesn’t forget to pay tribute to some recently deceased colleagues: George Duke, Prince, Leon “Ndugu” Chancler, Darryl Brown, Tom Petty, Chuck Berry, Larry Coryell and Al Jarreau.  – Clotilde Maréchal

1. And Ya Know We’re Missing You
2. After The Cosmic Rain/Dance Of The Planetary Prince
3. The Rugged Truth
4. Combat Continuum
5. The Message
6. Lost In A World
7. Alternative Facts
8. Bach Cello Suite 1 (prelude)
9. The Legend Of The Abbas And The Sacred Talisman
10. Enzo’s Theme
11. To Be Alive

Stanley Clarke, bass
Cameron Graves, synthesizers
Beka Gochiashvili, acoustic piano, keyboards
Mike Mitchell, drums


    Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

    %d bloggers like this: