Skip to content

The Queen’s Six – Journeys to the New World (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

The Queen’s Six – Journeys to the New World (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:06:12 minutes | 1,99 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Signum Records

This is a musical trip from the mid-sixteenth century to around 1700, involving music in Late Renaissance style, carrying Spanish Catholicism across the Atlantic to supplant an indigenous culture. Once the invasion had taken root with the conquest of Tenochtitlán and its transformation to Mexico City, the country became the target of fervent friars and preachers. Franciscans were first in 1523, then Dominicans, all fired with Christian zeal to convert the native population. From the outset they used music to great effect. The accounts that survive show how successful they were in teaching singing and playing, training choirs to perform liturgical music. By the mid-century it was claimed that standards had reached that of Charles Vs chapel. Churches and cathedrals were established throughout the rapidly expanding New Spain. Conquest and Christianity imposed an almost exact replica of Old Spain. Liturgical books, prints of plainchant and polyphony were shipped in throughout the century. In this recording the singers present music by eight composers. Four of them never went to the New World; their music did. Three of them were born in Spain and were trained in music there; they held appointments in Spain and later emigrated to the new colonial cities. One more became the first composer-choirmaster to be born there of Spanish parents, thus criollo.


01. The Queen’s Six – Regina caeli laetare à 6
02. The Queen’s Six – Salve regina à 5
03. The Queen’s Six – Vidi speciosam
04. The Queen’s Six – Trahe me post te
05. The Queen’s Six – Versa est in luctum
06. The Queen’s Six – Circumdederunt me
07. The Queen’s Six – In horrore visionis
08. The Queen’s Six – Versa est in luctum
09. The Queen’s Six – Tantum ergo
10. The Queen’s Six – O quam suavis est
11. The Queen’s Six – Christus factus est
12. The Queen’s Six – O sacrum convivium
13. The Queen’s Six – O quam gloriosum
14. The Queen’s Six – Beatus Achacius
15. The Queen’s Six – Laudate Dominum


%d bloggers like this: