Skip to content

The Oscar Peterson Trio – Night Train (1963/2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

The Oscar Peterson Trio – Night Train (1963/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 45:05 minutes | 976 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve Reissues

Night Train is an album by the Oscar Peterson Trio, released in 1963 by Verve Records.

Album producer Norman Granz had sold the record label Verve, but remained Peterson’s manager, and so supervised the Night Train recording session. The brief duration of many of the tracks has been attributed to a desire to have them played on commercial radio, which was reluctant to play any tracks longer than a few minutes.

The cover art photograph is by Pete Turner and original sleeve notes were by Benny Green.

Master jazz pianist Oscar Peterson had his longest-running trio with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen, and Night Train may be their finest moment. The repertoire here is comprised mostly of standards, although the choices seem deliberate. In treatments of jazz chestnuts like “C-Jam Blues” and “Georgia on My Mind,” the trio works inside these well-known songs, painting over familiar colors and reworking traditional melodies while staying true to the spirit of each tune. The chemistry between Thigpen, Brown, and Peterson is unassailable. Peterson in particular is at the top of his game here, running the whole history of jazz through his dexterous, nimble fingers with an in-the-pocket ease not always apparent on his earlier recordings. Night Train was produced by Norman Granz, who had already sold Verve Records to MGM, but continued to record his favorite artists, of whom Peterson was one. The production is superb, and translates especially well via remastering. The Verve reissue features additional tracks, including alternate takes, rehearsals, full versions of “My Heart Belongs to Daddy” and “Volare,” and an incomplete take of Charlie Parker’s “Now’s the Time.” New packaging, expanded liner notes, and photographs make the 1997 CD version of Night Train a keeper. – Anthony Tognazzini


1. Nesrine – Night Train
2. Nesrine – C Jam Blues
3. Nesrine – Georgia On My Mind
4. Nesrine – Bag’s Groove
5. Nesrine – Moten Swing
6. Nesrine – Easy Does It
7. Nesrine – Honey Dripper
8. Nesrine – Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
9. Nesrine – I Got It Bad And That Ain’t Good
10. Nesrine – Band Call
11. Nesrine – Hymn To Freedom


%d bloggers like this: