Skip to content

The Larry Coryell Organ Trio – Impressions (2008) [2.0 & 5.0] SACD ISO + FLAC

The Larry Coryell Organ Trio – Impressions: The New York Sessions (2008)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 & DST64 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 55:53 minutes | Front/Rear+PDF | 3,85 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear+PDF booklet | 1,16 GB
Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | Label: Chesky Records # SACD 337 | Genre: Jazz

This smoking organ trio recording is both a first for guitarist Larry Coryell and a return to his roots. More than 40 years after moving to New York City from Seattle, Coryell comes full circle back to his roots with this inspired organ trio outing. And in the stellar company of Yahel and Wertico, he is pushed to some exhilarating heights on these nine tracks.

Larry Coryell is one of the top jazz guitarists working today, and this album is a first for him in the guitar/Hammond B-3/drums trio format. For this session he used his regular drummer of the past five years and one of the newer breed of B-3 players, Israeli-born Sam Yale. The nine tunes include two Coryell originals and one by drummer Wertico, and contributions from Gershwin, Harold Arlen, Bill Evans and John Coltrane. The venue was St. Peter’s Episcopal Church in NYC, often used by Chesky for its natural acoustics for surround compared to the usual studio situation. Coryell’s guitar is dead center, with the drums on the right and B-3 on the left. There’s no overdubs or gimmicks, just the natural sounds of the three players. Coryell’s guitar has a clean and wide range timbre, and he refrains from over-electronic tricks. The trio’s bouncy treatment of Come Rain or Come Shine is a classic, and the tender slowed-down tempo of their Embraceable You offers welcome variety from the more energetic numbers. Coryell’s veneration of the late guitarist Gabor Szabo is shown in Szabodar, and the style of the Hungarian guitarist shares with that of Wes Montgomery in influencing Coryell’s approach. Strongly appreciated is the absence of guest vocalists on any of the nine tracks.


01. Very Early
02. Stowaway
03. Come Rain or Come Shine
04. Embraceable You
05. Caribe
06. Impressions
07. Szabado
08. Full Moon Over Istanbul
09. Centerpiece

Larry Coryell – electric guitar
Sam Yahel – Hammond B3 organ
Paul Wertico – drums

Produced by David Chesky. Engineered by Nicholas Prout.
Recorded at St. Peter’s Episcopal Church, NYC.
Editing and Mastering Engineer: Nicholas Prout.



%d bloggers like this: