Skip to content

The Joachim Kuhn Group – Bold Music (1969/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

The Joachim Kuhn Group – Bold Music (1969/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 37:43 minutes | 739 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © MPS Records

The title Bold Music says everything and nothing, this is a challenging and ambitious avant-jazz date that features Joachim Kühn tackling everything from piano to alto sax to antelope horn. It’s nevertheless most audacious for tempering its outré leanings with soulful, melodic grooves and insistent rhythms that make the music more accessible and more idiosyncratic. Working in collaboration with bassist/cellist Jean-François Jenny-Clark, drummer Stu Martin and percussionist Jacques Thollot, Kühn fuses improvisational skronk and sound-library smoothness to make a record that occupies both extremes of the MPS label sound at the same time. Somehow, Bold Music is both free and easy, and that’s a rare feat indeed.

01 – My Friend the Jogi
02 – Nobody Knows You Tomorrow
03 – Bold Music
04 – Vampires Castle
05 – Depression and Illusion
06 – The Third World War
07 – Message from Upstairs
08 – The Child Out There – Somewhere

Produced by Georg Brunner-Schwer & Joachim E. Berendt. Engineered by H.G. Brunner-Schwer.
Recorded on June 2-3, 1969 at MPS-Tonstudio, Villingen, Black Forest, Germany.
Digitally remastered.

Joachim Kühn – piano, alto saxophone, horn, shanai, bells, gong, steel drums, voice
J.F. Jenny-Clark – bass, cello
Jacques Thollot – drums, steel drums, tambourine, voice
Stu Martin – drums, bells, voice


%d bloggers like this: