Skip to content

The Jimmy Cobb Quartet – Cobb’s Corner (2007) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

The Jimmy Cobb Quartet – Cobb’s Corner (2007)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 57:03 minutes | 1,06 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Chesky Records

Jazz drummer Jimmy Cobb is perhaps most famous for his role as the backbone to Miles Davis’s best albums, but the unstoppable Cobb is also an excellent band leader in his own right, as evidenced in his latest release for Chesky Records, Cobb’s Corner. This recording captures the Jimmy Cobb that jazz listeners who’ve followed his long, gratifying career expect. Cobb’s Corner finds Jimmy filling out his rhythm section with legendary New York pianist Ronnie Mathews and renowned bassist Peter Washington. The chief soloist on the record is Roy Hargrove, perhaps the most versatile and surefire trumpeter to emerge in the wake of Wynton Marsalis. The musician’s fortright embrace of American standards, their personal interpretations of delectable melodies and their collective, highly interactive improvisations make this a must have for any jazz aficionado. This super audio compact disc was recorded using Chesky’s state of the art minimalist miking techniques to create an outstanding addition to any audiophiles collection.

Hargrove has a wonderfully rich tone and is able to stretch out some very creative solos during the generally laid-back tempi of many of the tracks. Chesky records in natural halls and churches rather than studios. The acoustic ambiance of the venue is the real thing – not digital reverb. None of the instruments are therefore recorded with close-up mics, not even the drums as nearly everyone else seems to do. The drums also don’t overpower the other players as heard on so many jazz recordings – of course at least part of that has to be blamed on the artfulness of Cobb’s drumming. – John Henry

01 – You And The Night And The Music
02 – My Romance
03 – Never Let Me Go
04 – John Charles
05 – My Foolish Heart
06 – I May Be Wrong
07 – Lotus Blossom
08 – Book’s Bossa
09 – Ruby My Dear
10 – My Ship

Produced by David Chesky. Recorded on November 15, 2006.
Engineered, Edited & Mastered by Nicholas Prout.

Jimmy Cobb – drums
Roy Hargrove – flugelhorn, trumpet
Ronnie Mathews – piano
Peter Washington – bass


%d bloggers like this: