Skip to content

The Jazz Passengers – Individually Twisted (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Jazz Passengers – Individually Twisted (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 00:46:08 minutes | 509 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Modern Harmonic

Rock icons Deborah Harry and Elvis Costello join NYC avant garde collaboration The Jazz Passengers for a perfectly matched ‘97 album. The Passengers’ always entertaining grooves pair with Harry and Costello’s unmistakable vocal textures for exquisite originals and fresh takes on jazz standards, including the can’t-miss duet “Doncha Go ‘Way Mad”! Of course the vocalists get all the ink, but this is Roy Nathanson (sax) and Curtis Fowlkes’ (trombone) band including a stellar crew of jazzmen, Bill Ware (vibes), E. J. Rodriguez (drums), Brad Jones (bass), and Sam Bardfeld (violin). The featured guitarist is the unheralded icon Marc Ribot (Tom Waits, John Zorn, Tricky, Harry Shearer, Beck, etc.), what an embarrassment of riches!

“It’s Harry who’s the real star of Twisted. She has easily made the transition from pop diva to jazz stylist. As hard as it is not to immediately associate Harry with Blondie, there are times when it seems as if these are the songs she was born to sing. She radiates supper-club elegance in ‘L’il Darlin’’ and breezes through ‘Olé,’ her vocals as weightless and as lustrous as chiffon. And on ‘Angel Eyes,’ she shows a newfound control that’s nothing short of remarkable. When she hits the song’s last line, she sustains the last note with an almost unbelievable strength and clarity. The horns swell up behind, their sound melting into hers. When they fade down, you realize she’s still holding out the note, unwavering and powerful: She’s got a grip on it that just won’t quit.” – Stephanie Zacharek, Salon

01. The Jazz Passengers – Babble a La Roy (0:10)
02. The Jazz Passengers – Maybe I’m Lost (5:23)
03. The Jazz Passengers – L’il Darlin’ (5:02)
04. The Jazz Passengers – The Tide Is High (3:49)
05. The Jazz Passengers – Pork Chop (4:17)
06. The Jazz Passengers – Aubergine (4:17)
07. The Jazz Passengers – Olé (4:33)
08. The Jazz Passengers – Imitation of a Kiss (5:56)
09. The Jazz Passengers – Jive Samba (Part II) (2:35)
10. The Jazz Passengers – Doncha Go ‘Way Mad (3:22)
11. The Jazz Passengers – Angel Eyes (5:28)
12. The Jazz Passengers – It Came From Outer Space/Star Dust (1:21)


%d bloggers like this: