Skip to content

The Darkness – Easter is Cancelled (Deluxe) (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Darkness – Easter is Cancelled (Deluxe) (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 53:07 minutes | 627 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cooking Vinyl Limited

In the Year of Our Lord, 2019, while turmoil and chaos beset the world, a mighty force is about to be unleashed. As the spartan time of Lent unfolds, and society looks set to implode, it s time to put away your chocolate eggs, say goodbye to the festive bunny and prepare for the sonic apocalypse… for Darkness spreads across the land! In their inimitable style, as joyous warriors here to prick the pompous and kick the ar*es of those who seek to destroy us, four maestros embark upon their most ambitious quest to date. With a musical opus of veritable magnum status soon to be thrust into the ear canals of rock fans around the globe, and a tour that will quite literally resurrect the souls of all who attend, The Darkness have a message for citizens of the world everywhere! They are men in tight costumes, ready to fight the power-drunk clowns who cast a shadow of despair across the land. They will not be gagged by the reeking stench of pious indifference that pours from the orifices of these clown-lords. So now, people of the world, it is time join The Darkness in their mission to take back control from the fools and liars who purport to lead us, and instead march forwards into the sunlit uplands of inclusivity, togetherness and rock n roll fellowship.

When brothers Justin and Dan Hawkins (The Darkness’s singer and guitarist respectively) set their minds to a new project, they don’t do things by half. Who can forget their album One Way Ticket to Hell… and Back, a record that sounds like Queen taken to the extreme! Easter Is Cancelled is a controlled chaos that mixes influences from the likes of Thin Lizzy, Queen, AC/DC. It’s masterful rock’n’roll with an uncomplicated operatic touch. With a good dose humour, the band confronts the unexpected changes that life throws our way, though this concept album is anything but soft. Each track is composed with a great meticulousness, largely thanks to guitarist and producer Dan Hawkins. This becomes evident right from the opening track with Rock’n’roll Deserves to Die, a kind of halfway point between an acoustic ballad and assertive hard rock, as well as the brilliant song Heart Explodes where every note goes shivering down your spine. Let’s not forget We Are the Guitar Men, an ode to great guitarists and the joys of making music – themes which seem to run throughout the whole of Easter is Cancelled, a record which can only be fully understood by taking the time to soak in each piece. © Maxime Archambaud

1. Rock and Roll Deserves to Die (05:24)
2. How Can I Lose Your Love (03:02)
3. Live ‘Til I Die (03:32)
4. Heart Explodes (03:47)
5. Deck Chair (02:24)
6. Easter is Cancelled (04:18)
7. Heavy Metal Lover (04:41)
8. In Another Life (04:01)
9. Choke on It (03:21)
10. We Are the Guitar Men (04:21)

Deluxe Edition bonus tracks:
11. Laylow (03:23)
12. Different Eyes (02:51)
13. Confirmation Bias (04:35)
14. Sutton Hoo (03:27)


%d bloggers like this: