Skip to content

The Clarinotts – Ernst, Daniel & Andreas Ottensamer (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

The Clarinotts – Ernst, Daniel & Andreas Ottensamer (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 56:51 minutes | 995 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital booklet | © Deutsche Grammophon

The Clarinotts are formed of father Ernst and his sons Daniel (both solo clarinettists at Vienna Philharmonic) and Andreas Ottensamer (solo clarinettist at Berlin Philharmonic) – dubbed the Viennese ‘royal family of clarinet’. The ensemble goes back to when Daniel and Andreas were children and the family played music together at home. Now the Clarinotts are a successful touring ensemble, dedicated to creating and playing the most virtuosic music for multiple clarinets. The program of the album is centred around music for the stage and includes pieces by Mendelssohn, Mozart, Rossini and many others, and features the Wiener Virtuosen string ensemble.

This debut album on Mercury Classics and Deutsche Grammophon presents some of the virtuoso clarinet repertoire of Ernst Ottensamer and his two sons, Daniel Ottensamer and Andreas Ottensamer, known collectively as the Clarinotts. The family group formed in 2005 as a professional ensemble, and they have toured while also holding key positions with major orchestras, Ernst and Daniel playing with the Vienna Philharmonic, and Andreas performing with the Berlin Philharmonic. For the most part, this album is focused on short pieces in fresh arrangements, backed by the Wiener Virtuosen, that show off the trio’s brilliant techniques, not only on the clarinets in B flat and A, but also on the E flat clarinet, bass clarinet, and the basset horn. The most substantial items are Mendelssohn’s vibrant Konzertstück No. 1 for clarinet, basset horn, and piano and the instrumental arrangement of the trio from Mozart’s Così fan tutte, both of which give the clarinetists fine opportunities for expressive playing. However, for demonstrations of the group’s brilliance and flexibility, Rossini’s La danza, Bonfá’s Manha de Carnaval, and Truan’s The Chase are recommended tracks.

01 – Mendelssohn: Concert Piece for Clarinet, Basset Horn and Orchestra op. 113: I. Allegro con fuoco
02 – Mendelssohn: Concert Piece for Clarinet, Basset Horn and Orchestra op. 113: II. Andante
03 – Mendelssohn: Concert Piece for Clarinet, Basset Horn and Orchestra op. 113: III. Presto
04 – Mozart: Trio ‘Soave sia il vento’ from ‘Cosi fan tutte’, K.588
05 – Doppler: Fantasy on Themes from Verdi’s ‘Rigoletto’
06 – Rossini: La Danza
07 – Ponchielli: Il Convegno, Op.76
08 – Françaix: Petit Quatour pour Saxophones: II. Cantilène
09 – Koreny: Cinema I
10 – Bonfá: Manhã de Carnaval
11 – Truan: The Chase

Ernst Ottensamer – clarinet, bass clarinet
Daniel Ottensamer – clarinet
Andreas Ottensamer – clarinet, basset horn
Christoph Traxler – Piano on “9”
František Jánoška – Piano on “10”
Wiener Virtuosen Streichensemble (“1-9”)


%d bloggers like this: