Skip to content

The Cars – Shake It Up (1981) [Expanded Edition 2018] [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

The Cars – Shake It Up (1981) [Expanded Edition 2018]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 1:18:56 minutes | 2,45 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front cover | © Rhino/Elektra

“Shake It Up” is the fourth studio album by American rock band The Cars, originally released in 1981. This Expanded Edition features the original album, remastered in 2016, expanded with rare and unreleased bonus tracks, including an early version of “Since You’re Gone”, the demo for “Shake It Up” and an unreleased song called “Midnight Dancer”.

By augmenting their sound with more synthesizers, electronics, and drum machines, the Cars’ fourth release, Shake It Up, helped bridge their hard rock-based early work (1978’s The Cars) with the futuristic-pop direction of 1984’s Heartbeat City. The band’s sound may have been evolving with each succeeding album, but Ric Ocasek was still writing compelling new wave compositions despite all the change, many of which would ultimately become rock & roll standards. The up-tempo title track remains a party favorite to this day (reaching number four on the singles charts), while the melancholic “Since You’re Gone” remains one of Ocasek’s best-ever tales of heartbreak. Intriguing videos were made for both songs, officially introducing the band to the MTV age. Like its predecessor, 1980’s Panorama, filler is present (“This Could Be Love,” “Maybe Baby”), but many lesser-known album tracks prove to be highlights: the almost entirely synth-oriented tracks “Think It Over” and “A Dream Away,” the rocking “Cruiser,” plus the more pop-oriented “I’m Not the One” and “Victim of Love.” Although Shake It Up was another resounding commercial success, their next album would be the one that made the Cars one of rock’s quintessential acts of the ’80s.

01 – Since You’re Gone (Remastered)
02 – Shake It Up (Remastered)
03 – I’m Not The One (Remastered)
04 – Victim Of Love (Remastered)
05 – Cruiser (Remastered)
06 – A Dream Away (Remastered)
07 – This Could Be Love (Remastered)
08 – Think It Over (Remastered)
09 – Maybe Baby (Remastered)
10 – Since You’re Gone (Early Version)
11 – Shake It Up (Demo)
12 – I’m Not The One (Remix) (Remastered)
13 – Cruiser (Early Version)
14 – Take It On The Run (Early Version of A Dream Away)
15 – Coming Up You Again (1981 Version of Coming Up You)
16 – Little Black Egg (Remastered)
17 – Midnight Dancer

Tracks “10 to 17” are Bonus Tracks.
Tracks “10, 11, 13, 14 & 17” – Previous Unreleased.


%d bloggers like this: