Skip to content

The Cars – Moving In Stereo: The Best Of The Cars (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

The Cars – Moving In Stereo: The Best Of The Cars (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:11:26 minutes | 2,67 GB | Genre:  Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rhino – Elektra

In 1978, the Cars had a Top 40 hit with the band’s very first single, ‘Just What I Needed.’ That streak continued over the next 10 years, as the band revisited the Top 40 a dozen more times with radio hits ‘Let’s Go’ and ‘Shake It Up’ along with iconic videos like ‘Magic’ and ‘You Might Think,’ which won MTV’s first-ever ‘Video Of The Year’ award in 1984.

The collection is produced by the band, with all surviving members contributing to song selection. Ocasek also supervised digital remastering of all the audio with Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound.

The collection features the band s big hits along with a rare, single mix for I m Not The One, as well as a live version of Everything You Say, and a new mix by producer Philippe Zdar of Sad Song, a track from the band s last album, 2011 s Move Like This.

Timed to accompany a possible 2016 induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (an event that unfortunately did not happen), Moving in Stereo: The Best of the Cars is the first high-profile Cars compilation since 2002, when The Complete Greatest Hits appeared (it also would see release under the title Definitive). Where the 2002 collection marched chronologically through the singles, opening with “Just What I Needed” and concluding 20 songs later with “You Are the Girl,” this skips through the band’s career, offering up two relative rarities along the way (a single mix of “I’m Not the One,” a live version of “Everything You Say”). The bigger, unwelcome difference is the number of omissions: “Good Times Roll,” “Bye Bye Love,” and “Magic,” three of the group’s very best hits, are all absent, and so are “It’s All I Can Do,” “Hello Again,” “Why Can’t I Have You,” and “You Are the Girl.” Chalk this up to the band choosing what 18 songs would be included in this collection, a move that nearly guarantees idiosyncratic selections. What’s here is good but there are too many major tunes missing to earn a recommendation. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01. Just What I Needed
02. Since You’re Gone
03. Let’s Go
04. You Might Think
05. Shake It Up
06. Drive
07. Tonight She Comes
08. My Best Friend’s Girl
09. Don’t Tell Me No
10. You’re All I’ve Got Tonight
11. I’m Not the One (Single Mix)
12. Candy-O
13. Heartbeat City
14. Touch and Go
15. Moving in Stereo
16. Dangerous Type
17. Sad Song (Zdar Mix)
18. Everything You Say (Live)

Ric Ocasek, guitar, vocals, synthesizer, background vocals
Greg Hawkes, keyboards, synthesizer, piano, saxophone, guitar, bass, background vocals
Elliot Easton, lead guitar, background vocals
Benjamin Orr, bass, guitar, vocals, keyboards, piano
David Robinson, drums, percussion, background vocals

Digitally remastered


%d bloggers like this: