Skip to content

The Big 4: Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax – Live From Sofia, Bulgaria {2-Disc Edition} (2010) Blu-ray 1080i AVC DTS-HD 5.1 + BDRip 720p

Title: The Big 4: Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax – Live From Sofia, Bulgaria
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Thrash Metal
Artist: Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax

Production/Label: Warner Music
Duration: 04:36:00
Quality: Blu-ray
Container: BDMV
Video codec: AVC
Audio codec: DTS, AC-3, PCM
Video: MPEG-4 AVC 27944 kbps 1920*1080i / 29,970 fps / 16:9 / High Profile 4.1
Audio#1: English DTS-HD MA 5.1 / 48 kHz / 4680 kbps / 24-bit
Audio#2: English LPCM 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1536 kbps / 16-bit
Subtitles: None
Size: 88.10 GB

The Big Four is an expression designating the 4 most important American metal bands like Megadeth, Metallica, Slayer and Anthrax. These are also the 4 groups best known American metal. It is from 1984 that young fans of Thrash Metal have begun to speculate on a concert that would combine the Big Four. Over the years, and after a few setbacks and tensions between groups, this vision together faded. It will take twenty-five years before new rumors, stronger and more present on many sites and fan communities, resurface. On the occasion of Sonisphere Festival 2010, the legendary Big Four share the poster for the first time. This already legendary concert was immortalized for giving Big Four: Live From Sofia, Bulgaria

Video Quality

Presented in an aspect ratio of 1.78:1, encoded with MPEG-4 AVC and granted a 1080i “live” transfer, Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax: The Big 4 – Live from Sofia, Bulgaria arrives on Blu-ray courtesy of Warner Music.
Filmed on location at Vasil Levski National Stadium, Sofia, Bulgaria, on 22 June 2010, Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax: The Big 4 – Live from Sofia, Bulgaria looks very good on Blu-ray. Each of the four sets is filmed with multiple strategically positioned cameras that capture the bands as they perform on the massive stage, as well as the fans enjoying their idols. Generally speaking, detail is very good, clarity pleasing, and contrast levels consistent. This being said, there are certain image fluctuations with each of the sets. For example, during the Megadeth set the weather does not cooperate the organizers of the show, and it starts raining. As a result, there are some lens reflections and tiny rain drops occasionally popping up on the screen. The Slayer set, however, looks excellent – contrast and clarity, in particular, are outstanding. The Metallica set, however, which is the last one in the program, is clearly the best looking one. The stage lighting, the pyrotechnics, and the camerawork are indeed top-notch. Some mild motion-judder is occasionally noticeable, but it is never distracting. There are no serious shadow issues. I also did not see any overly disturbing video noise. Lastly, I did not detect any purely transfer-specific technical anomalies to report in this review. To sum it all up, this is a very strong presentation of a historic show. (Note: This is a Region-Free Blu-ray disc. Therefore, you will be able to play it on your PS3 or SA regardless of your geographical location).

Audio Quality

There are two audio tracks on this Blu-ray disc: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 and LPCM 2.0. I opted for the English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track and later on did a few random comparisons with the LPCM 2.0 track for the purpose of this review.
The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 is quite remarkable. The bass is incredibly potent, the rear channels very intelligently used, and the high-frequencies not overdone (in fact, this release is amongst the very best in terms of high-frequency mixing). Obviously, each of the bands has a unique sound that comes off quite differently. For example, the balance between vocals and guitars during the Slayer set is not the same as the one from the Metallica set, but the mixing is excellent. Additionally, the range of dynamics the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track introduces should impress even the most demanding amongst heavy metal fans – the sound is never flat or anemic; on the contrary, it has excellent depth, power, and color. Lastly, the crowd noise is strong but never overwhelming.
The LPCM 2.0 track is decent but definitely not a match for the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track. None of the power and depth the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track allows for are possible with it. Balance and separation are not terribly convincing either (listen to “Symphony of Destruction” to hear how far back Dave’s singing is pushed).

Tracklist (ANTHRAX):
01. Caught in a Mosh
02. Got the Time (Joe Jackson cover)
03. Madhouse
04. Be All, End All
05. Antisocial (Trust cover)
06. Indians
07. Medusa
08. Only
09. Metal Thrashing Mad
10. I Am The Law

Tracklist (MEGADETH):
01. Holy Wars … the Punishment Due
02. Hangar 18
03. Wake Up Dead
04. Headcrusher
05. In My Darkest Hour
06. Skin O ‘My Teeth
07. Tout Le Monde
08. Hook In Mouth
09. Trust
10. Sweating Bullets
11. Symphony Of Destruction
12. Peace Sells

Tracklist (SLAYER):
01. World Painted Blood
02. Jihad
03. War Ensemble
04. Hate Worldwide
05. Dead Skin Mask
06. Angel of Death
07. Beauty Through Order
08. Disciple
09. Mandatory Suicide
10. Chemical Warfare
11. South of Heaven
12. Raining Blood

Tracklist (METALLICA):
01. Creeping Death
02. For Whom The Bell Tolls
03. Fuel
04. Harvester Of Sorrow
05. Fade To Black
06. That Was Just Your Life
07. Cyanide
08. Sad But True
09. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
10. All Nightmare Long
11. One
12. Master Of Puppets
13. Blackened
14. Nothing Else Matters
15. Enter Sandman
16. Am I Evil?
17. Hit The Lights
18. Seek & Destroy

Blu-ray DIsc


Winrar Recovery Volumes

Disc 2:

Winrar Recovery Volumes

BDRip 720p

%d bloggers like this: