Skip to content

The Beach Boys – 15 Big Ones (1976/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

The Beach Boys – 15 Big Ones (1976/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 39:08 minutes | 1,54 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | © Capitol Records

15 Big Ones is the 20th studio album by American rock group The Beach Boys released in July 1976. It comprises cover versions of rock and roll and rhythm and blues standards, along with a few new originals. The album was met with mixed reviews, but the highest sales the band had for a new studio album in many years, peaking at number 8 on the weekly Billboard albums chart.

Thanks to the surprising success of the compilation Endless Summer, the Beach Boys entered the studio in 1975 for the first time in almost three years. The album that followed, 15 Big Ones, balanced covers of rock and doo wop standards with seven new Beach Boys songs (including five Brian Wilson compositions). Most of the covers are mistakes, part of a misguided attempt by the aging Beach Boys to recapture the energy of their youth. The “contemporary” production techniques and overly polished sound do nothing for these oldies, and effectively sap them of any energy they might once have had. And the choices – including Chuck Berry’s “Rock and Roll Music,” the Dixie Cups’ “Chapel of Love,” Fats Domino’s “Blueberry Hill,” Freddy Cannon’s “Palisades Park” – are simply too well known to be reworked effectively, by anyone. The only one that succeeds is the closer, the lesser-known Righteous Brothers hit “Just Once in My Life,” given an emotional reading by Carl and Brian. Of the band originals, the good-time standard “It’s OK” and the quirky, endearing “Had to Phone Ya” are excellent, reminiscent of Brian’s odd pop songs on late-’60s albums like Friends and 20/20. Most of the other originals are quite inferior though, including the silly history-of-music salute “That Same Song,” Al Jardine’s “Susie Cincinnati,” and the meditation primer “T M Song.”

01 – Rock And Roll Music
02 – It’s O.K.
03 – Had To Phone Ya
04 – Chapel Of Love
05 – Everyone’s In Love With You
06 – Medley: Talk To Me / Tallahassee Lassie
07 – That Same Song
08 – TM Song
09 – Palisades Park
10 – Susie Cincinnati
11 – A Casual Look
12 – Blueberry Hill
13 – Back Home
14 – In The Still Of The Night
15 – Just Once In My Life


%d bloggers like this: