Skip to content

Terje Rypdal – Waves (1978/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Terje Rypdal – Waves (1978/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 41:22 minutes | 1,37 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front cover | © ECM Records
Recorded: September 1977 at Talent Studio, Oslo

Norwegian guitarist and composer Terje Rypdal, tone poet of the Fender Stratocaster, began his relationship with ECM back in 1970, when he was part of Jan Garbarek’s quartet on Afric Pepperbird, the saxophonist’s own label debut. Some Rypdal material that didn’t find its way onto Garbarek’s Sart the following year led ECM’s Manfred Eicher to suggest Rypdal record his own album, thereby beginning one of the label’s most fertile and long-lasting collaborations.

Rypdal’s eponymous debut as leader was recorded that same year. After the Rain (1976) and Waves (1977) followed, the latter featuring some of the jazziest material of Rypdal’s career created amidst a stellar supporting cast of Palle Mikkelborg, Sveinung Hovensjø and Jon Christensen. Michael Tucker described “Rypdal’s blending of rock and jazz phrasing with a rubato concern for tone colour and dynamics often redolent of the classical world.”

1. Per Ulv 08:42
2. Karusell 08:11
3. Stenskoven 03:46
4. Waves 05:43
5. The Dain Curse 08:44
6. Charisma 06:16

Terje Rypdal, electric guitar, synthesizer, RMI keyboard computer
Palle Mikkelborg, trumpet, tack piano, RMI keyboard computer, ring modulator
Sveinung Hovensjø, 6 & 4 string electric bass
Jon Christensen, drums, percussion


%d bloggers like this: