Skip to content

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem in D Minor, K.626 – Teodor Currentzis, MusicAeterna, The New Siberian Singers (2011) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Teodor Currentzis, MusicAeterna – Mozart. Requiem in D Minor, K.626 (2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 46:45 minutes | 484 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Artwork: Digital Booklet | © Alpha

This release stands out from among both the dozens or hundreds of available recordings of Mozart’s Requiem in D minor, K. 626, and from among the recordings in the catalog of France’s Alpha label. On the latter count, while most of Alpha’s recordings have been historically oriented, this one falls into glorious Russian tradition of luxurious expression, and the usual art-historical essay included with Alpha’s discs is missing here (although the packaging does bear some gorgeous Byzantine iconography). The recording pairs four western European soloists, who traveled all the way to Novosibirsk for the lengthy recording sessions, with the New Siberian Singers and the chamber orchestra MusicAeterna under its conductor, Teodor Currentzis. This is not a large choir (33 singers), but it has the rich sound associated with Russian opera choruses, which is what this group does as a general rule. If you’re thinking this sounds a bit like Mozart as conducted by Rachmaninov, you’re about right, especially in the sections where the dying Mozart seems to gaze into the fires of hell. The considerably more delicate soloists, especially alto Stéphanie Houtzeel, make a vivid contrast with the choir in this deeply colored, almost raw performance, which is nevertheless very carefully done in its details and sonically matched to the Novosibirsk opera house where it was recorded. By any measure this choir is a striking new talent.

01 – Requiem, K. 626: I. Introitus: Requiem
02 – Requiem, K. 626: II. Kyrie
03 – Requiem, K. 626: III. Sequenz: Dies Irae
04 – Requiem, K. 626: III. Sequenz: Tuba mirum
05 – Requiem, K. 626: III. Sequenz: Rex tremendae
06 – Requiem, K. 626: III. Sequenz: Recordare
07 – Requiem, K. 626: III. Sequenz: Confutatis
08 – Requiem, K. 626: III. Sequenz: Lacrimosa
09 – Requiem, K. 626: IV. Offertorium: Domine Jesu
10 – Requiem, K. 626: IV. Offertorium: Hostias
11 – Requiem, K. 626: V. Sanctus
12 – Requiem, K. 626: VI. Benedictus
13 – Requiem, K. 626: VII. Agnus Dei
14 – Requiem, K. 626: VIII. Communio: Lux Aeterna

Recorded in February 2010 at Novossibirsk Opera.

Simone Kermes – soprano
Stéphanie Houtzeel – alto
Markus Brutscher – tenor
Arnaud Richard – bass
Choir: The New Siberian Singers
Orchestra: MusicAeterna, Conducted by Teodor Currentzis


%d bloggers like this: