Skip to content

Taj Mahal, V.M. Bhatt & N. Ravikiran – Mumtaz Mahal (1995) [Reissue 2001] {PS3 ISO + FLAC}

Taj Mahal, V.M. Bhatt & N. Ravikiran – Mumtaz Mahal (1995) [Reissue 2001]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 44:23 minutes | Full PNG Artwork | 2,0 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full PNG Artwork | 769 MB

Taj Mahal, a repository of the musical traditions of the West African Diaspora in the New World, teams with Hindustani wizard of the mohan vina, V.M. Bhatt and Karnatak virtuoso of the chitra vina, N. Ravikiran. Their interpretation of popular Afro-American songs drawn from various genres is a unique musical synthesis.

Taj Mahal is joined by Indian master musicians N. Ravikiran and V.M. Bhatt on a selection of tunes that ultimately owe more to obvious blues clichés than they do to cross-cultural collaboration. Perhaps that’s because nearly half of the album’s tunes – including Robert Johnson’s “Come on in My Kitchen,” “Mary Don’t You Weep,” and “Johnny Too Bad” – have long been staples of Taj Mahal’s concert catalog. This isn’t to say that the set doesn’t have any moments of inspired improvisation and nuanced playing; there are a few instances of brilliance. But that seems a terrible waste of the talent gathered, unless the listener is looking for nothing more than an unlikely blues workout.

01. Coming Of The Mandinka
02. Come On In My Kitchen
03. Rolling On The Sea
04. Mary Don’t You Weep
05. Stand By Me
06. Johnny Too Bad
07. Curry And Quartertones

Taj Mahal – vocals, guitar
V.M. Bhatt – mohan veena
N. Ravikiran – chitra vina



%d bloggers like this: