Skip to content

Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Der Baum vor meinem Fenster (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Der Baum vor meinem Fenster (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 51:20 minutes | 882 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Toughtone Records

With her 14th CD “Der Baum vor meinem Fenster” (“The tree outside my window”), Susan Weinert presents us with a farewell gift, because on March 2nd, 2020 the sympathetic guitarist & composer passed away, who for decades tirelessly honed her own sound cosmos, constantly evolved and was always looking for new challenges. In over 3000 concerts all over the world she presented her music to a constantly growing fan base.

After the great success of the debut work in the Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio line-up “Beyond The Rainbow” in 2019, there is now a studio album with “Der Baum vor meinem Fenster” with the same line-up, which again focuses on the wide range, the richness of sound and the varied compositional ideas of the guitarist. The trio also presents itself on “Der Baum vor meinem Fenster” as a compact unit and the intuitive interplay that has grown in numerous joint concerts has become even denser. Also, Susan Weinert knows how to stage the demanding compositions with a light hand and in this way breathe song character into the pieces.

The unusual instrumentation with acoustic guitar, piano and bass allows a very unique sound universe to emerge, and by deliberately foregoing the involvement of a pure rhythm instrument such as drums or percussion, the romantic element can come more to the fore in this chamber music setting, the impressive dynamics of the trio find greater space and the variety of harmonic timbres open up to the listener in a special way. Although the album was recorded on hot summer days, musically it reflects more of a peaceful wintry mood – looking back, it would probably be seen as a mood in the last phase of life. The intensity and special atmosphere of this last recording, are audible and palpable from the first notes.


01. Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Herbstwind
02. Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Trust Yourself
03. Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Leise, fast unbemerkt
04. Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Congo Tales
05. Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Karl
06. Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Der Baum vor meinem Fenster
07. Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – A Long Winterday
08. Susan Weinert Rainbow Trio – Early Evening


%d bloggers like this: