Skip to content

Stray Cats – Rocked This Town – From LA to London (Live) (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Stray Cats – Rocked This Town – From LA to London (Live) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:21:03 minutes | 1 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Surfdog – Mascot Label Group

Rocked This Town: From LA to London is the upcoming live album by The Stray Cats. This collection of 23 tracks recorded during the band’s critically acclaimed 40th Anniversary Tour in 2020 combines their unparalleled virtuosity and red-hot rock & roll spirit, all raw and completely live–the way it was played on sweaty stages around the world.

The live album was produced by the multi-platinum band’s guitarist/vocalist Brian Setzer, upright bass player Lee Rocker and drummer Slim Jim Phantom–original founding members of the iconic American rock and roll trio–and mixed by Vance Powell (Jack White, Arctic Monkeys). The album’s career-spanning track listing features their greatest hits as well as several brand-new scorchers from last year’s 40, the band’s first new album in 26 years.

Listening to this Stray Cats album is like being transported back to the year 1955. Or, rather, to 1981, which was the year the trio came waltzing in and took over the rockabilly music scene even though it had already been around for 25 years. Now, in 2019, Stray Cats have made a comeback with the release of their first studio album in a quarter of a century, 40, to commemorate their 40th anniversary. The band’s longevity (aside from a few break-ups and makeups) is almost as impressive as the devotion of their loyal fans. In the early ‘80s, Stray Cats was the saviour of an audience of rebels and old-fashioned rock fans who just couldn’t bring themselves to embrace the emerging music trends full of synthesizers. Now forty years later, pop music has moved on and rock music has all but been killed off, but Stray Cats are still playing the same upbeat, rootsy music. And it works – sounding just like it did in 1980 and 1955. Firstly, because apart from a few exceptions, the band plays its own songs rather than just picking and choosing from the jukebox of original rock ‘n’ roll. Secondly, it works because Brian Setzer is an exceptional, natural-born guitarist with virtuoso talent and his Gretsch is on fire on this album. And finally, because the trio always seem to get stuck in and thoroughly enjoy themselves. Each of the 23 songs on this album is like a sprint against slackness and although they aren’t nostalgic, they certainly get your heart beating faster than usual. Yes, it may not be wise to do that many sprints one after another when you’re in your sixties. But that’s rock ‘n’ roll folks. – Stéphane Deschamps


1. Stray Cats – Cat Fight (Over A Dog Like Me) (Live)
2. Stray Cats – Runaway Boys (Live)
3. Stray Cats – Too Hip, Gotta Go (Live)
4. Stray Cats – Double Talkin’ Baby (Live)
5. Stray Cats – Three Time’s A Charm (Live)
6. Stray Cats – Stray Cat Strut (Live)
7. Stray Cats – Mean Pickin’ Mama (Live)
8. Stray Cats – Gene & Eddie (Live)
9. Stray Cats – Cry Baby (Live)
10. Stray Cats – I Won’t Stand In Your Way (Live)
11. Stray Cats – Cannonball Rag (Live)
12. Stray Cats – Misirlou (Live)
13. Stray Cats – When Nothing’s Going Right (Live)
14. Stray Cats – (She’s) Sexy + 17 (Live)
15. Stray Cats – Bring It Back Again (Live)
16. Stray Cats – My One Desire (Live)
17. Stray Cats – Blast Off (Live)
18. Stray Cats – Lust ‘n’ Love (Live)
19. Stray Cats – Fishnet Stockings (Live)
20. Stray Cats – Rock This Town (Live)
21. Stray Cats – Rock It Off (Live)
22. Stray Cats – Built for Speed (Live)
23. Stray Cats – Rumble In Brighton (Live)


%d bloggers like this: