Skip to content

Stefan Aeby – Piano Solo (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Stefan Aeby – Piano Solo (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 45:41 minutes | 434 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Intakt Records

It is a journey that the pianist invites the listener to embark on,” writes Alain Drouot, jazz journalist from Chicago. Revealing a panorama of uncharted territories, the opener “Yume” suggests that it will be well worth the trip.

Swiss pianist Stefan Aeby’s first solo piano recording is the product of three and half years of incubation and shows an understanding of what can be accomplished when taking advantage of a studio setting. Whether composed or improvised, the pieces all have a common denominator. All sounds come from the acoustic piano, but they can be distorted or modified through preparation, inserting all kinds of materials inside the instrument, and/or some processing via various electronic devices. This brings out one of Aeby’s main traits: his attention to detail.

If making a distinctive statement and being forward-looking are at the forefront of Aeby’s concerns, he does not forget the tradition as witnessed by his thoughtful re-harmonization of Erroll Garner’s “Misty” that he complements with unobtrusive electronic flourishes.


1. Stefan Aeby – Yume
2. Stefan Aeby – Song for A.
3. Stefan Aeby – Misty
4. Stefan Aeby – Dancing on a Cloud
5. Stefan Aeby – Flingga
6. Stefan Aeby – Dings
7. Stefan Aeby – Singing Witches
8. Stefan Aeby – Or Not
9. Stefan Aeby – Subway Run
10. Stefan Aeby – Mr. Pong
11. Stefan Aeby – Tempus Fugit
12. Stefan Aeby – Magnetophon
13. Stefan Aeby – Running Deeper
14. Stefan Aeby – Yoru


%d bloggers like this: