Spoon – Hot Thoughts (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Spoon – Hot Thoughts (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 41:55 minutes |  991 MB | Genre: Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Front Cover | © Matador

“Hot Thoughts” is the bravest, most sonically inventive work of Spoon’s career. With all due respect to earlier efforts that have made the quintet both critically acclaimed and a commercial contender, preconceptions about this band are about to be obliterated. That’s not to say “Hot Thoughts” doesn’t have a requisite supply of infectious earworms but there’s a lyrical bent that’s as carnal as it’s crafty, and a newfound sense of sonic exploration that results in the genresmasher Spoon have flirted with in the past but not fully consummated.

Spoon have released nine albums since the early 1990s, the last three reaching the US Top 10. So they have nothing to prove, but you wouldn’t know that from the 10 songs here: Hot Thoughts is loaded with tunes, invention and adventure. Take the title track. Its arrangement never sits still – elements of post-punk jerkiness and dub appear and then are gone – but at its core is a descending-chord motif that is pure simplicity. Do I Have to Talk You Into It is a great rock song, but Spoon weave in electronica, disco and garage rock to lift it into another league. Britt Daniel’s searing voice has an elemental rock’n’roll feel, like John Lennon’s or Kurt Cobain’s, and the whole album is expertly conceived and put together. Halfway through, it takes a sharp left turn with Pink Up, on which vibraphone and maracas coax us into a backwards-vocal-and-strings dreamscape. Finally, haunting closer Us leaves us alone with saxophones, the band only kicking in at the fade-out.

01 – Hot Thoughts
02 – WhisperI’lllistentohearit
03 – Do I Have to Talk You Into It
04 – First Caress
05 – Pink Up
06 – Can I Sit Next to You
07 – I Ain’t the One
08 – Tear It Down
09 – Shotgun
10 – Us

Note: Encoded 96/24, recorded 48/24.