Skip to content

Spirit Fingers – Spirit Fingers (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Spirit Fingers – Spirit Fingers (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 53:22 minutes | 569 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Shanachie

The inaugural album by the Jazz super-group, Spirit Fingers, features 4 of the hottest young lions on the Jazz scene today. Having played to sold out audiences from New York to LA and having already attracted over 300,000 views on YouTube, the over-the-top energy and spectacular virtuosity of Spirit Fingers reaches across the spectrum, from the Jazz aficionado to the jam band audience and beyond. “A thrilling soundscape…explosive…riveting…a glorious genre-bending excursion of free-wheeling groove”. –- TheJazzWorld

Spirit Fingers is pianist Greg Spero (winner of Best Jazz Entertainer at the Chicago Music Awards, music director for electropop superstar Halsey), Parisian bassist Hadrien Feraud (John McLaughlin, Kamasi Washington, Chick Corea), Dallas drum prodigy Mike Mitchell (Stanley Clark, Christian McBride, Chrisette Michelle) and Italian guitarist Dario Chiazzolino (Dave Liebman, Buika, Taylor Eigsti).

Spero’s ambition is powerfully manifested in his new band SPIRIT FINGERS (formerly known as Polyrhythmic), a dynamic ensemble of uber-talented young musicians whose energy, passion and innovative approach stake out exciting new territory for exploratory music on their eponymous debut album out in March 2018 on Shanachie Entertainment. As a pianist, and bandleader, Spero has explored various genres including jazz, hip-hop, modern classical music and pop, he exhibits the tenacious pursuit and commitment to excellence that separate the journeymen from the pioneers. The 12-song disc showcases Spero leading his superb ensemble that includes guitarist Dario Chiazzolino, bassist Hadrien Feraud and drummer Mike Mitchell as they concoct exploratory and evocative soundscapes that often combine the muscular virtuosity and rhythmic intricacies associated with the best of ’70s jazz fusion (think George Duke, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Return to Forever, and Weather Report) with some of today’s pop and hip-hop sensibilities.

01 – Inside
02 – Maps
03 – Try
04 – For
05 – Movement
06 – Find
07 – Space
08 – Release
09 – Location
10 – Being
11 – You
12 – Realize

All Compositions by Greg Spero.
Co-Produced by Greg Spero & Makaya McCraven.
Engineered by Randy Emata. Recorded at LP Studios in Los Angeles.

Greg Spero – piano
Dario Chiazzolino – guitar
Hadrien Feraud – bass
Mike Mitchell – drums


%d bloggers like this: