Skip to content

Sophie Hunger – Halluzinationen (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Sophie Hunger – Halluzinationen (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:07 minutes | 817 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Caroline International (License External)

The incredible Sophie Hunger. For her seventh album, recorded in Abbey Road Studios in London, the Swiss national subverts modern conventional practices and records herself in one take, challenging herself to avoid any postproduction corrections. An incredible feat that, created by the spontaneity of the recording, explores electric liveliness (Halluzinationen), bold 80s textures (Alpha Venom, Everything Is Good), folk nudity (Stranger) and sophisticated jazz (Maria Magdalena). These varied sounds evoke, here and there, the sweet madness found in MGMT’s work, or even Radiohead’s melancholic purity (Liquid Air, Bad Medication). Greatly diverse in its musical direction, Halluzinationen, hits all the right notes.

Again there is a new principle in the recording universe of Sophie Hunger. When it came to the instruments last time (on “Molecules” only Drum Machine, Synthesizer, acoustic guitar and voice were allowed according to album Dogma), it’s now about the type of recording. Everything has to be live, Overdubs and even subsequent changes of the song order are forbidden.

Over two days, she and her Band play through the entire Album six times from start to finish in a One-Take process. The result is called “hallucinations”, shows hunger’s various musical facets, which have been tried out over the course of her career, and is, hardly surprising, again quite great. Few artists package timeless music as forward-looking as Sophie Hunger for “hallucinations”.

If Hunger acted on” Molecules ” stylistically deliberately limited, it now turns free – perhaps in response to it. Already during her last Tour, the Swiss experimented with bringing the Synth-Pop Setup of “Molecules” into line with her earlier phases. This resulted in new Arrangements, a mixture of electronics and jazzy, psychedelic improvisation on organic instruments. The fruits of this symbiosis are called “Liquid Air”, “hallucinations”, “Alpha Venom”, “Everything is Good”and” Security Check”. Julian Sartorius ‘ repetitive, but special Drumbeats shape the sound picture, Synths waver, and in the form of idiosyncratically playful melodies also give the beat.


1. Sophie Hunger – Liquid Air
2. Sophie Hunger – Finde Mich
3. Sophie Hunger – Halluzinationen
4. Sophie Hunger – Bad Medication
5. Sophie Hunger – Alpha Venom
6. Sophie Hunger – Rote Beeten aus Arsen
7. Sophie Hunger – Everything Is Good
8. Sophie Hunger – Maria Magdalena
9. Sophie Hunger – Security Check
10. Sophie Hunger – Stranger


%d bloggers like this: