Skip to content

Sonny Rollins – Way Out West (1957) {Deluxe Edition 2018} [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Sonny Rollins – Way Out West (1957) {Deluxe Edition 2018}
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 01:25:10 minutes | 5,52 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © Contemporary

“Way Out West”, originally recorded for the Contemporary label in 1957, qualifies as an all-time Sonny Rollins classic. Culled from a 3 A.M. session with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Shelly Manne, the material collected here demonstrates why Rollins was considered the top tenor saxophone in jazz at the time of the recording. This Deluxe 60th Anniversary edition celebrates this landmark album in Rollins’ career with a full second LP of rare and previously unreleased bonus material and new liner notes by Grammy-winning writer Neil Tesser.

The timeless Way out West established Sonny Rollins as jazz’s top tenor saxophonist (at least until John Coltrane surpassed him the following year). Joined by bassist Ray Brown and drummer Shelly Manne, Rollins is heard at one of his peaks on such pieces as “I’m an Old Cowhand (From the Rio Grande),” his own “Way out West,” “There Is No Greater Love,” and “Come, Gone” (a fast stomp based on “After You’ve Gone”). The William Claxton photo of Rollins wearing Western gear (and holding his tenor) in the desert is also a classic.

01 – I’m An Old Cowhand
02 – Solitude
03 – Come, Gone
04 – Wagon Wheels
05 – There Is No Greater Love
06 – Way Out West
07 – Monologue: You Gotta Dig The Lyrics
08 – I’m An Old Cowhand (Alternate Version)
09 – Dialogue: Titling “Come, Gone”
10 – Come, Gone (Alternate Version)
11 – There Is No Greater Love (Alternate Version)
12 – Way Out West (Take 1)
13 – Way Out West (Alternate Version)

Tracks “7, 9, 11 & 12” are previously unreleased.
Tracks “8, 10 & 13” originally released on OJCCD-337-2, a compact disc reissue.

Original Recordings Produced by Lester Koenig. Recording Engineer: Roy DuNann.
Recorded on March 7, 1957 at Contemporary’s Studio in Los Angeles.
Reissue Produced by Nick Phillips. Mastered by Joe Tarantino.
Digitally Remastered.

Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
Ray Brown – double bass
Shelly Manne – drums


%d bloggers like this: