Skip to content

Sonic Youth – Washing Machine (1995/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192Hz]

Sonic Youth – Washing Machine (1995/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:08:17 minutes | 2,55 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | @ Geffen Records, Universal Music

Sonic Youth’s ninth album Washing Machine is the first record to almost exclusively feature Kim on guitar rather than bass, and contains some of their lengthiest material since “Goo” and “Daydream Nation”, including the epic “The Diamond Sea” which drifts onward for an unprecedented 20 minutes, still the longest track on any SY album (excluding the SYR releases). Incidentally, “The Diamond Sea” would prove to be one of the band’s most popular songs, and it along with SY’s headlining spot on the summer Lollapalooza tour would introduce legions of new fans to their music.

After the regressive, low-key Experimental Jet Set, Trash & No Star, Sonic Youth appeared to be floundering somewhat, but Washing Machine erased any notion that the band had run out of things to say. Easily their most adventurous, challenging, and best record since Daydream Nation, the album finds Sonic Youth returning to the fearless exploration of their SST records, but the group has found a way to work that into tighter song structures. Not only are the songs more immediate than most of the material on their earlier records, the sound here is warm and open, making Washing Machine their most mature and welcoming record to date. It’s not a commercial record, nor is it a pop record, but Washing Machine encompasses everything that made Sonic Youth innovators, and shows that they can continue to grow, finding new paths inside their signature sound. ~~AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. Becuz 04:43
2. Junkie’s Promise 04:02
3. Saucer-Like 04:25
4. Washing Machine 09:33
5. Unwind 06:02
6. Little Trouble Girl 04:29
7. No Queen Blues 04:35
8. Panty Lies 04:15
9. Becuz Coda 02:49
10. Skip Tracer 03:48
11. The Diamond Sea 19:36

Thurston Moore – vocals, guitar, production
Kim Gordon – vocals, guitar, bass, production
Lee Ranaldo – vocals, guitar, production
Steve Shelley – drums, production
Kim Deal – additional vocals on “Little Trouble Girl”
Lorette Velvette – additional vocals on “Little Trouble Girl”
Melissa Dunn – additional vocals on “Little Trouble Girl”


%d bloggers like this: