Skip to content

Sonic Youth – Goo (1990/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Sonic Youth – Goo (1990/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 49:56 minutes | 2,06 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: PonoMusic | @ Geffen Records, Universal Music

Goo was the sixth studio album by alternative rock group Sonic Youth and their first for a major label. Its lead single, “Kool Thing” made it to the number 7 spot on the singles chart and featured Chuck D of Public Enemy, the record also features the singles “Disappearer” and “Dirty Boots”.

Any doubts as to the continuing relevance of Sonic Youth upon their jump to major-label status were quickly laid to rest by Goo, their follow-up to the monumental Daydream Nation. While paling in the shadow of its predecessor, the record is nevertheless a defiant call to arms against mainstream musical values; the Geffen logo adorning the disc is a moot point – Goo is, if anything, a portrait of Sonic Youth at their most self-indulgently noisy and contentious, covering topics ranging from Karen Carpenter (“Tunic”) to UFOs (“Disappearer”) to dating Jesus’ mom (“Mary-Christ”). Even Public Enemy’s Chuck D joins the fracas on the single “Kool Thing,” which teeters on the brink of a cultural breakthrough but falls just shy of the mark; the same could be said of Goo itself – by no means a sellout, it nevertheless lacks the coherence and force of the group’s finest work, and the opportunity to violently rattle the mainstream cage slips by.

01 – Dirty Boots
02 – Tunic (Song for Karen)
03 – Mary-Christ
04 – Kool Thing
05 – Mote
06 – My Friend Goo
07 – Disappearer
08 – Mildred Pierce
09 – Cinderella’s Big Score
10 – Scooter and Jinx
11 – Titanium Expose


Sonic Youth – Dirty (1992/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

%d bloggers like this: