Skip to content

Snarky Puppy & Metropole Orkest – Sylva (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Snarky Puppy & Metropole Orkest – Sylva (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 00:54:29 minutes | 600 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Digital Booklet | © Impulse!

Brooklyn’s Snarky Puppy jazz-funk collective have become one of modern music’s bright lights. Sylva, their debut for Impulse, is their fifth live album and eighth overall. It is unlike anything else in their catalog thus far, yet it embodies all the things they do so well: R&B, fusion, NOLA second line, soul-jazz, and more. It is a concert collaboration with Utrecht’s Metropole Orkest; a single work comprised of two suites. The first four tracks make up the first, while the last two comprise the second. Sylva realizes composer/bassist Michael League’s dream for Snarky Puppy: to work on a cinematic, orchestral scale without resorting to a watered-down “with strings” exercise. Their trademark edges — in arrangement, improvisation, and groove quotient — all remain intact. Fans may experience initial hesitation during the opening strains of the set’s overture “Sintra.” It contains repetitive, moody strings and winds before the band’s horns enter on a Latin tinge and rhythms follow suit. The Metropole’s horns join and it all starts to swirl, ending on the fat crescendo that introduces the slinky jazz-funk of “Flight.” It features more familiar traits, with spidery synth and Rhodes, vamping guitars, and layers of staggered percussion and B-3 as its engine. “Atchafalaya” sounds exactly like its title: swampy, sweaty NOLA horn funk with stinging electric guitars and popping stacks of percussion as its hallmarks. “The Curtain” is over 15 minutes long. It employs intimate post-bop, symphonic rock, big-band funk, dancefloor stomp, cosmic fusion, and classical elegance. Sylva’s closer is the nearly 20-minute “The Clearing.” Debussy-ian impressionism may introduce it, but lithe, shimmering R&B, swinging, fat-horned progressive big band (think Clarke-Boland), greasy, blackbone-slipping alley funk, trancey Miles-esque fusion, and Wardell Quezergue-styled NOLA horn grooves wind out of it. This sprawler ratchets down before rebuilding toward a swaggering climax with brass, guitars, bass, drums, and B-3 all on stun. Sylva may not be the dance party face of Snarky Puppy, but there is one within it. League writes not only tor the strengths in his band, but also those of the Metropole Orkest — they are not only able to “hang” with Snarky Puppy, they push them — hard. Many acts have attempted collaborative exercises like this, but few — if any — have pulled them off. Musical sophistication meets the gritty danger of live performance; execution matches ambition with crackling energy and soulful expression. –AllMusic Review by Thom Jurek

1. Sintra 03:32
2. Flight 06:03
3. Atchafalaya 06:04
4. The Curtain 15:09
5. Gretel 04:21
6. The Clearing 19:23

Snarky Puppy:
Michael League – electric bass and Moog keybass
Bob Lanzetti – electric guitar
Mark Lettieri – electric guitar
Chris McQueen – electric guitar
Bill Laurance – piano, Wurlitzer, and Moog
Cory Henry – organ, clavinet, and Moog
Justin Stanton – Fender Rhodes, Moog, clavinet, piano, and trumpet
Jay Jennings – trumpet and fl ugelhorn
Mike “Maz” Maher – trumpet and fl ugelhorn
Chris Bullock – tenor sax, clarinet, and bass clarinet
Nate Werth – percussion
Robert “Sput” Searight – drums

Metropole Orkest:
Conductor – Jules Buckley
1st Violin – Arlia de Ruiter (concertmaster), Vera Laporeva, Denis Koenders, David Peijnenborgh,
Pauline Terlouw, Casper Donker, Ruben Margarita, Tinka Regter, Seijia Teeuwen, Ewa Zbyszynska
2nd Violin – Merijn Rombout, Herman van Haaren, Wim Kok, Feyona van Iersel, Pauline Koning,
Polina Cekov, Merel Jonker, Christina Knoll
Viola – Mieke Honingh, Norman Jansen, Julia Jowett, Isabella Petersen, Iris Schut, Lex Luijnenburg
Cello – Maarten Jansen, Emile Visser, Jascha Albracht, Annie Tangberg, Charles Watt
Double Bass – Erik Winkelmann, Arend Liefkes, Tjerk de Vos
Flute – Janine Abbas, Mariël van den Bos, Nola Exel
Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Contrabass Clarinet, and Saxophone – Paul van der Feen, Leo van Oostrom,
Leo Janssen, Werner Janssen, and Max Boeree
Horn – Pieter Hunfeld, Rob van de Laar, Fons Verspaandonk, Elizabeth Hunfeld
Trombone – Jan Oosting, Vincent Veneman, Jan Bastiani
Bass Trombone – Martin van den Berg
Tuba – Ries Schellekens
Percussion – Murk Jiskoot, Frank Warndenier


%d bloggers like this: